Skip to main content Skip to footer
Burgmans Named SEC Freshman of the Year, All-SEC
Pleun Burgmans

April 24, 2013

BIRMINGHAM – Auburn women’s tennis freshman Pleun Burgmans has been named the SEC Freshman of the Year and a member of the All-SEC First Team by vote of the league’s coaches, the conference office announced on Wednesday.

“I’m so proud of Pleun and all she accomplished so far this year,” Auburn women’s tennis head coach Lauren Longbotham Meisner said. “These honors are tremendous accomplishments both for her and our program. She has worked very hard and has become a leader for our team on and off the court. She has been a huge part of the turnaround our program made this year and will continue to play a huge part over the rest of her Auburn career.”

Burgmans, who was also named to the All-Freshman team, excelled in her first season on The Plains playing exclusively at the top line for the Tigers. A native of the Netherlands, Burgmans posted a record of 21-6 during her rookie season, including a 15-3 mark in dual matches.

The freshman was 9-2 in conference play and posted an 8-4 mark against ranked opponents.

Additionally, Burgmans was 24-9 in doubles play with five different partners, but saw most of her action with senior Plamena Kurteva. The tandem combined for a 13-4 mark that included five ranked wins with victories over No. 6 and 7 teams in the country.

Burgmans is the first All-SEC first team member for Auburn since 2009. Former Auburn All-American Fani Chifchieva was named first team All-SEC from 2007-09. Burgmans is the first Auburn student-athlete to be named SEC Freshman of the Year.

For the latest on Auburn women’s tennis, follow @AUWomensTennis on Twitter.

Coach of the Year: Roland Thornqvist, Florida
Player of the Year: Lauren Embree, Florida
Freshman of the Year: Pleun Burgmans Auburn
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Antonia Foehse, Alabama

All-SEC First Team
Alexa Guarachi, Alabama
Mary Anne Macfarlane, Alabama
Yang Pang, Arkansas
Pleun Burgmans, Auburn
Lauren Embree, Florida
Sofie Oyen, Florida
Lauren Herring, Georgia
Maho Kowase, Georgia
Kata Szekely, Tennessee
Brynn Boren, Tennessee
Cristina Sanchez-Quintanar, Texas A&M
Nazari Urbina, Texas A&M

All-SEC Second Team
Antonia Foehse, Alabama
Claudine Paulson, Arkansas
Nadia Ravita, Kentucky
Alexandra Cercone, Florida
Olivia Janowicz, Florida
Brianna Morgan, Florida
Kate Fuller, Georgia
Silvia Garcia, Georgia
Caroline Rohde-Moe, Ole Miss
Georgiana Patrasc, Mississippi State
Jaklin Alawi, South Carolina
Katerina Popova, South Carolina
Cristina Stancu, Texas A&M



All-Freshman Team
Natalia Maynetto, Alabama
Yang Pang, Arkansas
Pleun Burgmans, Auburn
Brianna Morgan, Florida
Silvia Garcia, Georgia
Nadia Ravita, Kentucky

Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Store


Shop for your favorite summer items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information