Skip to main content Skip to footer
Pleun Burgmans selected to All-SEC Second Team
April 22, 2015


AUBURN, Ala. - Auburn junior Pleun Burgmans was named to the All-SEC Women’s Tennis Second Team, the conference office announced Wednesday.

“We’re proud of Pleun for being recognized for her play,” Auburn head coach Lauren Longbotham Meisner said. “Since she got on campus she’s be our No. 1 in singles and been one of the top doubles players in the country. She’s worked extremely hard throughout her time at Auburn and we know she still has a lot of good tennis ahead of her.”

The honor marked Burgmans’ third straight selection to the All-SEC squad, joining former Tiger Fani Chifcheva as the only two players in school history to be recognized by the league at least three times in their careers.

Burgmans, an All-America selection in 2014, is currently ranked sixth in the country with doubles partner Emily Flickinger. The pair compiled a 23-10 overall record this season in doubles, including a 12-7 mark at the No. 1 line for the Tigers. Burgmans has won 26 doubles matches this season, which is tied for the ninth-most in school history.

In singles, the junior is ranked No. 66 in the nation by the ITA and has posted an 18-15 overall record. Burgmans is 11-11 in dual match play, with 10 wins coming at the No. 1 spot in Auburn’s lineup. The junior’s 59 career singles wins already rank as the 11th-most in school history.

The NCAA Championships run May 8-10 at various campus sites around the country. The NCAA Individual Championships begin May 20 in Waco, Texas.

For the latest on Auburn women's tennis follow @AuburnWTennis on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook at

First Team All-SEC

Maya Jansen, Alabama
Erin Routliffe, Alabama
Brooke Austin, Florida
Josie Kuhlman, Florida
Brianna Morgan, Florida
Lauren Herring, Georgia
Joana Vale, Costa LSU
Julia Jones, Ole Miss
Jasmine Lee, Mississippi State
Rachel Pierson, Texas A&M
Sydney Campbell, Vanderbilt
Astra Sharma, Vanderbilt

Second Team All-SEC

Yuliya Lysa, Arkansas
Pleun Burgmans, Auburn
Kourtney Keegan, Florida
Silvia Garcia, Georgia
Ellen Perez, Georgia
Kennedy Shaffer, Georgia
Aldila Sutjiadi, Kentucky
Skylar Kuykendall, LSU
Elixane Lechemia, South Carolina
Rutuja Bhosale, Texas A&M
Saska Gavrilovska, Texas A&M
Frances Altick, Vanderbilt 
Courtney Colton, Vanderbilt

Brooke Austin, Florida
Josie Kuhlman, Florida
Ellen Perez, Georgia 
Kennedy Shaffer, Georgia 
Arianne Hartono, Ole Miss 
Astra Sharma, Vanderbilt

Player of the Year: Brooke Austin, Florida
Freshman of the Year: Brooke Austin, Florida
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Emily Zabor, Alabama
Coach of the Year: Geoff Macdonald, Vanderbilt



Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Store


Shop for your favorite summer items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information