Fifth-Ranked Women's Golf Earns NCAA East Region Bid
Senior Nicole Hage

NCAA Regional Notes
Download Free Acrobat Reader

April 30, 2007

Auburn, Ala. - The fifth-ranked Auburn women's golf team received a bid to the NCAA East Region, which will be held at the University Club in Baton Rouge, La., May 10-12, NCAA Women's Golf Committee Chair Nancy Cross announced Monday.

The Tigers, ranked fifth in the latest Golfweek poll, are coming off an eighth place finish at the SEC Championship two weeks ago in West Point, Miss. The Tigers have three tournament victories in their collection this season including The Derby Invitational, the Lady Puerto Rico Classic and the Liz Murphey Collegiate Classic. Two Auburn individuals have won titles - Mariana Macias (Lady Puerto Rico Classic) and Marisa Milligan (The Derby).

"We are happy to go wherever the NCAA places us," Auburn head coach Kim Evans said. "We are in a very strong East Region but we are ready to go. We look forward to going to Baton Rouge and continuing our post-season."

Auburn will face five of the top 20 teams including top seed and No. 2 ranked Duke, No. 7 Purdue, No. 12 UCLA, No. 14 Texas A&M and No. 17 North Carolina. LSU will serve as host for the tournament. Auburn is 55-16 versus the 21-team field this season and will meet four teams for the first time.

The top eight teams in each of the three regions will advance to the NCAA Championship in Daytona Beach, Fla., at LPGA International, May 22-25. Central Region competition will be held at the University of Michigan Golf Course in Ann Arbor, Mich., and the West Region will take place at Entrada at Snow Canyon Country Club in St. George, Utah.

For live coverage of the East Regional please visit or follow daily updates of the Tigers on

East Regional Teams
1. Duke
3. Auburn
4. Purdue
5. Texas A&M
6. North Carolina
7. Alabama
8. Wake Forest
9. South Carolina
10. Virginia
11. Florida State
12. LSU
13. Louisville
14. South Florida
15. N.C. State
16. Birmingham-Southern
17. Furman
18. College of Charleston
19. Western Carolina
20. Jacksonville State
21. Jackson State
Individual Qualifiers
Aruka Felgueroso, Coastal Carolina
Lene Krog, East Carolina
Amanda Mathis, Mississippi State