Skip to main content Skip to footer
Women's golf selected for NCAA East Regional in Tallahassee

April 28, 2014

AUBURN, Ala. - The Auburn women's golf team earned a bid to the NCAA East Regional Championship, which runs May 8-10 at the SouthWood Golf Club in Tallahassee, Fla.

The Tigers are one of 72 teams that were selected to the NCAA Regional field, with 24 selected for each site. Auburn will be making its 19th straight NCAA Regional appearance under head coach Kim Evans and its 21st overall in program history.

"We're excited to head to the NCAA East Regional in Tallahassee. It is a great field and we're are ready to go and compete against talented competition," Evans said.

Auburn heads to the East Regional as the No. 8 seed. The Tigers are one of five SEC teams in the field, joining South Carolina, Vanderbilt, Kentucky and Georgia. 12 of the league's 14 clubs earned a spot at an NCAA Regional. Arkansas, Alabama, LSU, Florida and Mississippi State will all compete at the NCAA Central Regional in Stillwater, Okla., while Texas A&M and Tennessee will travel to the NCAA West Regional in Cle Elum, Wash.

The Tigers, who enter the NCAA East Regional ranked at No. 24 in the latest GolfStat rankings, will be joined by No. 3 Duke, No. 5 South Carolina, No. 9 Stanford, No. 14 Pepperdine, No. 17 UCF and No. 20 Virginia in Tallahassee.

Making up the rest of the field are: NC State, Florida State, Tulane, Louisville, Baylor, East Tennessee State, Campbell, East Carolina, Texas State, College of Charleston, Troy, Murray State, Seton Hall and Alabama State.

Lori Beth Adams (UNC-Wilmington), Ellen Ceresko (Penn State), Lacey Fears (Mercer), Kaew Preamuchuen (Kennesaw State), Abby Newton (Ole Miss) and Christina Vosters (Penn State) will compete as individuals at the three-day event.

The Tigers have competed at 21 NCAA Regionals, including making 14 appearances at the NCAA East Regional. Auburn has finished in the top eight to earn a spot at the NCAA Championship in 14 of its 20 appearances in postseason play.

A total of 378 participants have been selected for regional play with 126 players advancing to the championships finals. Eight teams and two individuals will move on to the NCAA Championships in Tulsa, Okla., at the Tulsa Country Club, May 20-23.

For complete coverage on the Auburn women's golf team, visit, follow 
@AUWomensGolf on Twitter and `like' the Auburn Women's Golf  page on Facebook.

East Regional Teams
1. Duke (Atlantic Coast Conference)
2. South Carolina
3. Stanford (Pac-12)
4. Vanderbilt (Southeastern Conference)
5. Pepperdine (West Coast Conference)
6. UCF
7. Virginia
8. Auburn
9. NC State
10. Florida State
11. Kentucky
12. Tulane (Conference USA)
13. Louisville (American Athletic Conference)
14. Baylor
15. East Tennessee State (Atlantic Sun)
16. Georgia
17. Campbell (Big South)
18. East Carolina
19. Texas State
20. College of Charleston (Colonial Athletic Association)
21. Troy (Sun Belt)
22. Murray State (Ohio Valley)
23. Seton Hall
24. Alabama State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)

1. Lori Beth Adams, North Carolina-Wilmington
2. Ellen Ceresko, Penn State
3. Lacey Fears, Mercer
4. Kaew Preamuchuen, Kennesaw State
5. Abby Newton, Ole Miss
6. Christina Vosters, Penn State



Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information