Christina Lin to Compete in Collegiate Equestrian Challenge

Feb. 6, 2014

AUBURN, Ala. -- For the second time in her career, Auburn equestrian hunt seat rider Christin Lin has been selected to compete in the fifth-annual Collegiate Equitation Challenge as part of the Winter Equestrian Festival in Wellington, Fla.

The Challenge will begin Friday, Feb. 7, at 1 p.m. CT. The finals of the event will be held at 7 p.m. in the International Arena at the Palm Beach International Equestrian Center.

"I'm so excited and honored to be able to represent my team, as well as Auburn," Lin said. "It's great to be chosen to compete against some of the best riders in the country, especially in a place as prestigious as Wellington."

Lin, the November NCEA and SEC Rider of the month is currently a team best 8-1 over fences, averaging a score of 80 with one MOP. She is the Auburn University all-time win leader in equitation on the flat. As a junior, the Pennsylvania native was an Honorable Mention Equitation on the Flat All-American and an All-SEC Equestrian Team selection.

Lin faces California State University-Fresno rider, Dayle Fischer in the first round.  The event will utilize the NCEA head-to-head bracketed format with the 16 top collegiate riders from the NCEA and IHSA. The eight winners of the preliminary round competitions will qualify for the finals of the event. The horses will be on loan from local professionals and unfamiliar to the riders.

Former Auburn rider Maggie McAlary was the winner of this event in 2010.

For updates from the Collegiate Equitation Challenge, follow the National Collegiate Equestrian Association on Twitter at @NCEA_Equestrian, and follow Auburn Equestrian at @aubequestrian.


Christina Lin

Auburn University


Samantha Schafer

Baylor University


Dayle Fischer

California State University, Fresno


Rachel Webster

Kansas State University


Jacqueline Yeager

Miami University of Ohio


Emily McConnel

New Mexico State University


Samantha Elser

Oklahoma State University


Santana Wright

South Dakota State University


Julianna Fischer

Southern Methodist University


Hannah Wiliams

Texas A&M University


Caitlin Ader

Texas Christian University


Emily Rizzo

University Of Florida


Abby O'Mara

University of Georgia


Lauren Steiner

University of Miami (FL)


Reily Parker

University of Northern Florida


Katherine Schidt

University of South Carolina