Auburn Assistant Daedra Charles-Furlow Elected to Women's Basketball Hall of Fame

Daedra Charles-Furlow

Nov. 14, 2006

Auburn, Ala. - Auburn assistant women's basketball coach Daedra Charles-Furlow was among six elected into the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame class of 2007. Charles-Furlow will be inducted during the June 8-9 celebration at the hall's headquarters in Knoxville, Tenn.

"I am still trying to grasp the significance of being inducted into the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame," Charles-Furlow said. "To be selected is a huge accolade and it is just an awesome feeling. The one thing I have learned, and now stress to the Auburn team, is the importance of hard work. When you work hard, good things happen to not only you but your teammates as well."

Charles-Furlow, a native of Detroit, Mich., came to Auburn with diverse experience at both the playing and coaching levels. An assistant coach with the University of Detroit Mercy from 2003-06, Charles-Furlow was a two-time KODAK All-American and a two-time NCAA Champion as a Lady Vol.

While playing for the Lady Vols from 1998-91, she was named the 1991 SEC Female Athlete of the Year and became the first player from the SEC to win the Wade Trophy, the highest honor awarded in college women's basketball.

Despite missing her freshman season at UT due to Prop 48, she finished her career seventh on the UT scoring list (1,495), sixth in rebounding (858) and second in blocked shots (97).

She is one of only five Lady Vols to have her number (32) retired, joining Holly Warlick, Bridgette Gordon, Chamique Holdsclaw and Tamika Catchings. In 2001, she joined Gordon as one of nine inductees into the inaugural class of the Tennessee Lady Vol Athletic Hall of Fame.

Charles-Furlow was a member of the 1992 U.S. Olympic team and was a member of three U.S. National teams (1989, 1992, and 1994). After her collegiate playing days, she went on to compete professionally overseas in Japan, Italy and France from 1991-96, before returning to the States to play for the WNBA's Los Angeles Sparks in 1997.

Joining Charles-Furlow in the class of 2007 is Georgia women's head coach Andy Landers, former Texas player Andrea Lloyd Curry, former Louisiana Tech player Pam (Kelly) Flowers, a teammate of Charles-Furlow's at Tennessee, Bridgette Gordon, and Philadelphia Inquirer reporter Mel Greenberg.

"I am elated to be inducted with one of my former teammates, Bridgette,"Charles-Furlow said. "She was my mentor and is just a real winner. The other five being inducted are also ambassadors for women's basketball. Andrea [Lloyd] helped me adjust to playing overseas and I am grateful to her."

Former Auburn women's head coaching great Joe Ciampi was enshrined in the Hall of Fame in 2005.

The Hall of Fame's board of directors chooses the new inductees each year. Players can only be considered five years after retiring from their highest level of competition. Coaches must have coached for at least 20 years. For more information on the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame please visit the official web site at