Women's Basketball Picked Fifth in SEC Preseason Coaches' Poll; DeWanna Bonner Named to Preseason All-SEC First Team


Nov. 1, 2007

Birmingham, Ala. - The Auburn women's basketball team was picked to finish fifth in the SEC in the league's preseason poll as voted on by the league's head coaches, the Southeastern Conference announced Thursday. Junior guard DeWanna Bonner was named to the Preseason All-SEC First Team.

Defending national champion Tennessee picked to finish first with 119 points and nine first place votes. SEC Champion LSU took second with 112 points and two first place votes, followed by Georgia (102) and Vanderbilt (81). Auburn earned 77 points in the fifth place spot.

Following Auburn is Kentucky in sixth with 73 points, Mississippi State in seventh (64), Arkansas in eighth (43), Ole Miss in ninth (41), South Carolina in 10th (37), Florida in 11th (28) and Alabama in 12th with 11 points.

Bonner is coming of a stellar sophomore campaign where she led the Tigers with 15.1 points and 8.1 rebounds per game, becoming just the third sophomore ever to lead Auburn in both categories. Bonner was named First Team All-SEC team after finishing in the top 10 in the league in scoring and rebounding. Bonner led Auburn in scoring 17 of the 32 games, in which she played last season and scored in double digits in 24 contests.

Over the summer, Bonner competed with the USA Basketball U21 National Team. At the FIBA Americas U21 Championship, Bonner scored 16 points and helped lead Team USA to a gold medal, defeating Australia, 96-73. It was the second gold medal for Bonner as she also earned gold with the USA Basketball U20 National Team in 2006.

Tennessee junior Candace Parker was the overwhelming choice of the coaches for SEC Women's Basketball Player of the Year with eight votes, followed by LSU's Sylvia Fowles with three votes and Georgia's Tasha Humphrey with one vote.

Joining Parker, Fowles, Humphrey and Bonner on the All-SEC First Team were Arkansas' Lauren Ervin, LSU's Erica White, Tennessee's Nicky Anosike and Alexis Hornbuckle and Vanderbilt's Christina Wirth.



The second team consists of Florida's Sha Brooks and Marshae Dotson, Georgia's Ashley Houts, Kentucky's Sarah Elliott and Samantha Mahoney, LSU's Quianna Chaney, Mississippi State's Imesia Jackson, Tennessee's Shannon Bobbitt and Vanderbilt's Liz Sherwood.

Auburn's Whitney Boddie and Sherell Hobbs, Florida's Depree Bowden, Georgia's Megan Darrah, Kentucky's Carly Ormerod, Mississippi State's Alexis Rack and Marneshia Richards, Ole Miss' Alliesha Easley and South Carolina's Demetree Adams and Lakesha Tolliver also received votes.

Points were complied on an 11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis for order of prediction, while each player received two points for a first-team vote and one point for a second-team vote. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own team or players.

Auburn begins the season on Nov. 11 vs. Detroit at 2 p.m. CT in Beard-Eaves-Memorial Coliseum. The Tigers continue their home campaign by hosting Troy on Nov. 14 and UAB on Nov. 17. Season tickets are available by calling the Auburn Athletics ticket office at 1-800-AUB-1957 and online at www.auburntigers.com.