Skip to main content Skip to footer
Auburn Women's Basketball Closes Out Season at End of the Year Banquet

April 26, 2013

AUBURN, Ala. - The Auburn women's basketball team held its end of the year banquet Friday night on the Scholarship Terrace at Auburn Arena. Head coach Terri Williams-Flournoy and her staff honored the 2012-13 senior class and presented awards to members of the team for their outstanding accomplishments this season.

"It was great," Williams-Flournoy said. "It's a wonderful opportunity to say thank you to your seniors and tell them how much you appreciate them and the hard work they've put into our program, and the same for our young ladies. It's a celebration of the season and all the hard work they've put in for a tough season where, at one point, they just didn't know what was going on. Everyone was asking if they were buying into it, and they knew all along they didn't really have a choice. There wasn't anything to buy into, but it was something that they accepted, and they worked hard. What a great opportunity for them to finish out such a great year."

Coach Flo and the assistant coaches and staff took turns presenting the end of the year awards to deserving members of the team.

Blanche Alverson was honored first with her 1,000 career point ball, having reached the mark on Jan. 10 in a 76-52 victory over Ole Miss. Alverson became just the 27th player in Auburn women's basketball history to reach the 1,000-point milestone.

Chadarryl Clay was honored as Auburn's Scholar Athlete of the Year for her outstanding academic performance with the top GPA on the team.

Hasina Muhammad received the steals award, having finished the season with 82 of Auburn's 402 steals. The Tigers set a new program record for steals in a single season.

Najat Ouardad collected 178 assists to win the assists award, while Alverson won the rebounding award, having finished the season with a team-high 206 rebounds.



Tyrese Tanner won the points leader award, having scored 482 points for a team-high average of 14.2 points per game.

Alverson was also honored with the Tiger Award, selected by Coach Flo and her staff. The Tiger Award is presented to the member of the team who goes above and beyond as a student-athlete, on and off the court, as well as in the community.

Muhammad and Alverson were presented awards for their accomplishments in the Southeastern Conference, Muhammad as a second team All-SEC selection and Alverson for her second-consecutive SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year honor.

The four members of the 2012-13 senior class, Alverson, Julie King, Najat Ouardad and PJ West, were also honored for their contributions throughout their years as Auburn student-athletes.

Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information