DeWanna Bonner and Jordan Greenleaf Garner SEC Postseason Awards
DeWanna Bonner

Feb. 27, 2007

Birmingham, Ala. - Two members of the Auburn women's basketball team earned SEC women's basketball postseason honors as voted by the league's 12 coaches. Sophomore DeWanna Bonner was named First Team All-SEC and Jordan Greenleaf was named to the All-Freshman team.

Bonner, a native of Fairfield, Ala., leads Auburn on both sides of the ball where she averages 14.7 points and 8.3 rebounds a game. Bonner has been Auburn's leading scorer in 15 of the 28 contests she has played in and has notched 12 double-doubles in that span. She currently ranks in the top 10 on the all-time Auburn sophomore record books for both scoring and rebounding. Bonner currently ranks in the top 10 in the SEC in scoring, rebounding, free throw percentage and defensive rebounds.

Bonner is on pace to become just the third sophomore ever at Auburn to lead the Tigers in scoring and rebounding in thee same year. The last time a sophomore led the Tigers in these categories was the 1986-87 season when Vickie Orr averaged 16.7 points and 7.6 rebounds a game.

"We are all very proud of DeWanna for being named First Team All-SEC," head coach Nell Fortner said. "It is a tremendous honor for her and for her teammates. DeWanna has done a great job of continuing to develop her game and her teammates have done a great job of helping her as well."

Jordan Greenleaf

Greenleaf is eight blocks shy of becoming the all-time leading freshman blocker at Auburn. The Murrow, Ga., native has 39 blocks to date, putting her eighth in the SEC (highest ranked freshman). Greenleaf is second on the Tigers team behind Bonner in rebounds per game with a 5.4 average. She not only stands on the freshman record books for blocks, but also finds herself seventh in rebounds with 163 on the year.

"Jordan has been a consistent player for us all year long," Fortner said. "As a freshman to come in here and start almost every game and really anchor us down in that post spot is an honor. I really believe she has a great future here at Auburn. We are all proud of the fact that we have had an All-SEC Freshman team honoree the last three years and hopefully we will continue to do that.

Greenleaf joins a very distinguished group of Auburn freshman who have earned this honor. She becomes just the 11th Tiger to make the freshman team and Fortner's third straight.

Juanitta Wallace

Also receiving a postseason honor was Auburn junior Juanitta Wallace. Wallace was named to the SEC Community Service Team which highlights athletes who give back to their community in superior service efforts. Wallace visits patients at East Alabama Medical Center and residents at Monarch Estates Retirement Center. Wallace has also helped set up Lee County relief shelters for Hurricane Katrina victims and is a National Student Athlete Day volunteer.

Below is a complete list of the postseason SEC award recipients.

DeWanna Bonner, Auburn
Tasha Humphrey, Georgia*
Sylvia Fowles, LSU*
Armintie Price, Ole Miss*
Alexis Hornbuckle, Tennessee
Candace Parker, Tennessee*
Dee Davis, Vanderbilt
Carla Thomas, Vanderbilt*

Second Team All-SEC
Lauren Ervin, Arkansas
Marshae Dotson, Florida
Cori Chambers, Georgia
Sarah Elliott, Kentucky
Samantha Mahoney, Kentucky
Quianna Chaney, LSU
Sidney Spencer, Tennessee
Caroline Williams, Vanderbilt

All-Freshman Team
Donica Cosby, Arkansas*
Jordan Greenleaf, Auburn
Ashley Houts, Georgia
Christy Marshall, Georgia
Angel Robinson, Georgia
Allison Hightower, LSU
Alliesha Easley, Ole Miss
Alexis Rack, Mississippi State*

Coach of the Year: Pat Summitt, Tennessee
Player of the Year: Candace Parker, Tennessee
Freshman of the Year: Ashley Houts, Georgia
Defensive Player of the Year: Armintie Price, Ole Miss
6th Woman of the Year: Christy Marshall, Georgia and Liz Sherwood, Vanderbilt
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Sarah Pfeifer, Arkansas

Community Service Team
Leah Drury - Alabama
Sarah Pfeifer - Arkansas
Juanitta Wallace - Auburn
Kim Criton - Florida
Rebecca Rowsey - Georgia
Eleia Roddy - Kentucky
Jada Mincy - Ole Miss
Bethany Workman - Mississippi State
Brionna Dickerson - South Carolina
Sidney Spencer - Tennessee
Dee Davis - Vanderbilt

* indicates unanimous selection