Skip to main content Skip to footer
No. 18 Auburn Selected to the Columbus Regional

May 6, 2013

AUBURN – The No. 18 Auburn men’s golf team was named the No. 3 seed in the Columbus Regional hosted by Ohio State, the NCAA announced Monday. The regional will be played at the Ohio State Golf Club’s Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio on May 16-18.

The Tigers are making their 22nd overall appearance in the last 24 years as fourth year head coach Nick Clinard has led the Tigers to four-straight NCAA Regional appearances.

“It is a great golf course and we are excited about playing there,” Clinard said. “I played there in there in the National Championship in 1995, and it is a great course. I was there last year with Blayne Barber when he played in the Nationwide Tour event there. This will be a great test for our guys as the field is full of great teams that are well coached.”

The Columbus Regional teams in order of seeding are, No. 6 New Mexico, No. 8 Stanford, No. 20 South Carolina, Missouri, UNLV, Texas Tech, Chattanooga (Southern), Georgia Southern, San Francisco, Virginia, Charlotte (Atlantic 10), and Valparaiso (Horizon).

The 10 individuals playing in the Columbus Regional are Iowa State’s Scott Fernandez, Lousiville’s Robin Sciot Siegrist, Toledo’s Chris Selfridge, Akron’s Charlie Bull, Purdue’s Adam Schenk, Michigan State’s Matthew Moseley, Marshall’s Nathan Kearns, Minnesota’s Erik Van Rooyen, Xavier’s Korey Ward and Cincinnati’s David Tepe.

Thirteen SEC teams qualified for NCAA Regionals, including No. 2 Alabama, No. 10 Florida, No. 17 LSU, No. 23 Mississippi State and Tennessee at the Baton Rouge Regional. No. 15 Georgia, No. 22 Texas A&M and Vanderbilt will be in the Tempe Regional, while No. 13 Arkansas and Kentucky are in the Fayetteville Regional.

The top five teams and the low individual not on those teams qualify for the NCAA Men’s Golf Championship at the Capital City Club in Atlanta, Ga., May 28-June 2.

Columbus Regional Teams
Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.
1. New Mexico (Mountain West)
2. Stanford
3. Auburn
4. South Carolina
5. Missouri
7. Texas Tech
8. Chattanooga (Southern)
9. Georgia Southern
10. San Francisco
11. Virginia
12. Charlotte (Atlantic 10)
13. Valparaiso (Horizon)

Individual Qualifiers
1. Scott Fernandez, Iowa State
2. Robin Sciot Siegrist, Louisville
3. Chris Selfridge, Toledo
4. Charlie Bull, Akron
5. Adam Schenk, Purdue
6. Matthew Moseley, Michigan State
7. Nathan Kerns, Marshall
8. Erik Van Rooyen, Minnesota
9. Korey Ward, Xavier
10. David Tepe, Cincinnati



Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information