Skip to main content Skip to footer
Bo Jackson named Doak Walker Legends Award winner
Dec. 17, 2014

Auburn great Bo Jackson picks up another honor

By Charles Goldberg

AUBURN, Ala.  Auburn legend Bo Jackson has won another football honor Wednesday, 29 years after he won the Heisman Trophy with the Tigers.

Jackson was named the winner of the 2014 PwC Doak Walker Legends Award, which honors former running backs who excelled in college and went on to distinguish themselves as leaders in their communities.

Jackson will accept his trophy at the Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet on Feb. 27 in Dallas.

Jackson won his Heisman in 1985 at Auburn when he rushed for 1,786 yards in a career tin which he rushed for 4,303 yards. When he wasn't doing that, he was hitting .401 for the Auburn baseball team in 1985.
He ran for 2,782 yards in four seasons in the NFL… when he wasn't playing big-league baseball.

"Bo Jackson made extraordinary contributions to his teams at Auburn and in both the NFL and MLB," said Thomas W. Codd, PwC North Texas Managing Partner. "We honor Bo, not only as an inspirational athlete, whose popularity extended beyond sports, but also as an individual who believes in the importance of education and providing opportunities to underprivileged children." 

Doak Walker was a star at SMU, where he won the Heisman Trophy in 1948. Walker "epitomized leadership, sportsmanship, and academic and athletic achievement," says the award organization.

Other Doak Walker Legend winners include Floyd Little (2013), Jim Brown (2012), Tommy McDonald (2011), Jim Taylor (2010), Eric Dickerson and Craig James (2009), Calvin Hill (2008), Marcus Allen (2007), Walter Payton (2006), Jim Swink (2005), John David Crow (2004), Doc Blanchard and Glenn Davis (2003), Earl Campbell (2002), Tony Dorsett (2001), Pete Dawkins (2000), Archie Griffin (1999) and Gale Sayers (1998).



Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information