Newton Named Sporting News' College Football Player of the Year
Cam Newton

Cam Newton

Dec. 15, 2010

AUBURN - Auburn junior quarterback Cam Newton has been named Sporting News' College Football Player of the Year, and was joined by junior defensive tackle Nick Fairley on Sporting News' All-America team, the publication announced Wednesday.

Sporting News is one of only five All-American groups the NCAA uses to determine consensus All-Americans. Auburn, LSU, Oregon and Wisconsin each had two representatives on Sporting News' team.

Newton, the 2010 Heisman Trophy winner, has accounted for a nation-best 49 touchdowns this season, setting Auburn single-season records for passing touchdowns (28) and rushing touchdowns (20) while also catching one. He is one of just three players in NCAA FBS history to rush for and pass for 20 touchdowns in a single season, and became the first player in SEC history to total 2,000 yards passing and 1,000 yards rushing in a single season. Newton leads the nation in passing efficiency (188.16) and leads the SEC in rushing (108.4) and total offense (307.5).

Fairley leads the SEC with a school record 21 tackles for loss, which is tied for fourth most in the nation, and also ranks second in the league with 10.5 quarterback sacks. The 2010 Lombardi Award winner is fifth on the team with 55 tackles this season, and has also recovered two fumbles, forced one fumble, intercepted a pass and has 21 quarterback hurries. He has helped Auburn rank 11th nationally in rushing defense, allowing just 111.7 yards per game.

The Dec. 20 issue of Sporting News magazine features Newton on the cover and includes a comprehensive college bowl guide, a 2011 year in preview and 2010 pro, college and high school athletes of the year.

Sporting News All-American Team

QB Cam Newton, Jr., Auburn
RB LaMichael James, Soph., Oregon
RB Jordan Todman, Jr., Connecticut
WR Justin Blackmon, Soph., Oklahoma State
WR Ryan Broyles, Jr., Oklahoma
TE Lance Kendricks, Sr., Wisconsin
OL Jake Kirkpatrick, Sr., TCU
OL Rodney Hudson, Sr., Florida State
OL Chase Beeler, Sr., Stanford
OL Gabe Carimi, Sr., Wisconsin
OL Nate Solder, Sr., Colorado
K Josh Jasper, Sr., LSU
KR Eric Page, Soph., Toledo

DT Nick Fairley, Jr., Auburn
DE Ryan Kerrigan, Sr., Purdue
DE Da'Quan Bowers, Jr., Clemson
DT Stephen Paea, Sr., Oregon State
LB Luke Kuechly, Soph., Boston College
LB Greg Jones, Sr., Michigan State
LB Vontaze Burfict, Soph., Arizona State
CB Patrick Peterson, Jr., LSU
CB Prince Amukamara, Sr., Nebraska
S Rahim Moore, Jr., UCLA
S Robert Sands, Jr., West Virginia
P Chas Henry, Sr., Florida
PR Cliff Harris, Soph., Oregon