Skip to main content Skip to footer
SEC coaches name Tre Mason, Gus Malzahn league's best

Dec. 11, 2013

Auburn's Tre Mason runs through Missouri on way to being named the SEC's offensive player of the year (USA Today photo)

Coaches All-SEC individual honors / Coaches All-SEC team / AP All-SEC team

By Charles Goldberg

AUBURN, Ala. -- The honors keep piling up for Auburn's Tre Mason and Gus Malzahn. 

Mason, the Tigers' runaway tailback, was named the Southeastern Conference offensive player of the year and Malzahn, the master of Auburn's turnaround season, was named the league's coach of the year Wednesday in a vote of league coaches. 

Mason was also named the SEC's offensive player of the year and Malzahn was named the coach of the year by the Associated Press on Monday.

It's been a busy awards season for the two.

Malzahn was named the Home Depot national coach of the year Wednesday. He's a finalist for three other national coach of the year honors and is a candidate for even more. 

Mason, now with two SEC offensive player of the year honors, 1,621 rushing yards and 22 rushing touchdowns, will be in New York this weekend as a finalist for the Heisman Trophy. Mason was named to USA Today's All-America second team Wednesday.

How did Mason and Malzahn do it? 

Mason made the college football world take notice in last Saturday's SEC Championship Game when he rushed for 304 yards and four touchdowns in helping Auburn beat Missouri and, ultimately, win a spot in the BCS title game. 

Malzahn, in his first year at Auburn, turned around the misfortunes of last season's 3-9 team to produce a 12-1 record and a conference championship. 

The coaches named Alabama's C.J. Moseley and Missouri's Michael Sam as co-defensive players of the year; Alabama's Christion Jones as special teams player of the year; Ole Miss' Laquon Treadwell as freshman of the year; Texas A&M's Jake Matthews as the winner of the Jacobs Blocking Trophy; and Georgia's Aaron Murray as the scholar-athlete of the year.

Mason, center Reese Dismukes and defensive end Dee Ford were named to the coaches' All-SEC team first team Tuesday. Chris Davis was named to the second team. Ten Tigers were honored on the various All-SEC teams by the AP on Monday.

The league will announce its all-freshman team Thursday. 

Charles Goldberg is a Senior Writer at Follow him on Twitter:



Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information