Dr. Ed Dyas Inducted Into College Football Foundation Hall Of Fame


Dec. 8, 2009

New York - Former Auburn football All-American Dr. Ed Dyas was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame at the National Football Foundation Awards Dinner at the Waldorf=Astoria in New York City Tuesday evening. Dyas, who finished fourth in the 1960 Heisman Trophy voting and was a scholastic All-American, is the 12th Auburn coach or player inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

A three-year letterman from 1958-60, Dyas is the first Auburn inductee since Coach Pat Dye went into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2005. He's the first Auburn player to be inducted since Tracy Rocker in 2004.

"I surely feel like I've reached the pinnacle of success in the game," Dyas said. "I'm humbled and deeply appreciative of this honor."

Dyas was one of the most prolific field goal kickers in college football history. In 1960, he set an NCAA record for most field goals in a season with 13. He won four Southeastern Conference games that year with field goals, including three against Georgia in a 9-6 Auburn victory in the first Auburn-Georgia game played at what is now know as Jordan-Hare Stadium.

"(On April 30) I received a package and opened it up, and there was the football from the Hall of Fame and the letter - `Congratulations, you've been inducted into the 2009 class.' It put me on cloud nine," Dyas said. "I was crying. My wife was crying. It was the greatest thing that's ever happened to me."

Dyas was also a standout fullback and linebacker, concluding his career as Auburn's sixth all-time leading rusher with 1,298 yards. During his All-American senior season, Dyas also led the Tigers in rushing and scoring and was selected as the SEC's most outstanding back.

As a senior, Dyas won the Cliff Hare Award, which is presented to the outstanding Auburn senior student-athlete, and the Bill Streit Award, which goes to the football player with the highest grade point average over four years.



An excellent pre-med student at Auburn, Dyas was selected captain of the 1960 Scholastic All-America team. Following graduation from Auburn, he went to medical school and has been a highly respected orthopedic surgeon in Mobile.

In 1994, Dyas received the Walter Gilbert Award, which is awarded annually to a former Auburn student-athlete who distinguishes themselves through achievements after graduation at Auburn.

A native of Mobile, Dyas was inducted into the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame in 1999.

Dyas joins former Tiger players Jimmy Hitchcock (1954), Walter Gilbert (1956), Pat Sullivan (1991), Tucker Frederickson (1994), Bo Jackson (1998), Terry Beasley (2002) and Tracy Rocker (2004) in the Hall of Fame. Auburn coaches also in the Hall of Fame include Mike Donahue (1951), John W. Heisman (1954), Ralph "Shug" Jordan (1982) and Pat Dye (2005).

Joining Dyas as part of the 2009 National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame class include HB Pervis Atkins (New Mexico State, 1958-60), WR Tim Brown (Notre Dame, 1984-87), DB Chuck Cecil (Arizona, 1984-87), QB Major Harris (West Virginia, 1987-89), TE Gordon Hudson (Brigham Young, 1980-83), C William Lewis (Harvard, 1892-93), LB Woodrow Lowe (Alabama, 1972-75), WR Ken Margerum (Stanford, 1977-80), DT Steve McMichael (Texas, 1976-79), LB Chris Spielman (Ohio State, 1984-87), LB Larry Station (Iowa, 1982-85), DE Pat Swilling (Georgia Tech, 1982-85), QB Gino Torretta (Miami, Fla., 1989-92), RB Curt Warner (Penn State, 1979-82), and DE Grant Wistrom (Nebraska, 1994-97). The coaches to be inducted include Dick MacPherson (Massachusetts, Syracuse) and John Robinson (Southern California, Nevada-Las Vegas).