Skip to main content Skip to footer
Auburn's Gus Malzahn on Bobby Dodd coach of the year list
Gus Malzahn prowls the Auburn sidelines at Ole Miss
Oct. 31, 2016

By Charles Goldberg

AUBURN, Ala. Five straight wins and a contender in the SEC West has Auburn's Gus Malzahn on the midseason watch list for the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year award.

The Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and the Chick-Fil-A Bowl announced the watch list of 18 coaches Monday.

Auburn, coming off a 40-29 win over Ole Miss, is 6-2 overall and 4-1 in the Southeastern Conference heading to Saturday's 11 a.m. game against Vanderbilt.

The Bobby Dodd Award is presented to a coach "with the highest ideals of leadership, scholarshipand integrity on and off the field," says the award foundation. The award also considers winning records, superior Academic Progress Rate scores and graduation rates, as well as a strong commitment to service within their communities.

The 2016 Dodd Trophy midseason watch list: 



Current AP Ranking:

Past Winner:

Paul Chryst

Wisconsin (Big Ten)

No. 11


Larry Fedora

North Carolina (ACC)

No. 21


P.J. Fleck

Western Michigan (MAC)

No. 20


Jim Harbaugh

Michigan (Big Ten)

No. 2


Bryan Harsin

Boise State (Mountain West)

No. 13


Dana Holgorsen

West Virginia (Big 12)

No. 10


Mike MacIntyre

Colorado (Pac-12)

No. 23


Gus Malzahn

Auburn (SEC)

No. 15


Jim McElwain

Florida (SEC)

No. 14


Urban Meyer

Ohio State (Big Ten)

No. 6


Ken Niumatalolo

Navy (American)

No. 22


Chris Peterson

Washington (Pac-12)

No. 4

2010 Dodd Trophy

Mike Riley

Nebraska (Big Ten)

No. 7


Nick Saban

Alabama (SEC)

No. 1

2014 Dodd Trophy

Bob Stoops

Oklahoma (Big 12)

No. 16

2003 Dodd Trophy

Kevin Sumlin

Texas A&M (SEC)

No. 9


Dabo Swinney

Clemson (ACC)

No. 3

2011 Dodd Trophy

Kyle Whittingham

Utah (Pac-12)

No. 17




























Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information