Skip to main content Skip to footer
Fairley Named Rotary Lombardi Award Semifinalist

Oct. 28, 2010

HOUSTON -- Junior Auburn defensive tackle Nick Fairley was among 10 defensive and two offensive players comprising the list of 12 semifinalists for the 41st Rotary Lombardi Award to be held December 8, 2010, at the George R. Brown Convention Center in Houston. The semifinalists were announced today at a kickoff event at Academy Sports & Outdoors in Houston, Texas.

The Big 10 Conference leads the pack with four players, followed by the Big 12 with three, the SEC and the ACC with two each and one from the Mountain West.

Against LSU, Fairley dominated defensively for Auburn, recording six tackles, including 3.5 for 23 yards in losses. He collected 2.5 quarterback sacks (-20 yards) and added one quarterback hurry.

With the game tied at 17-17 with 7:51 remaining, Fairley had 2.0 tackles for loss (-12) and 1.0 sacks (-9) in a three-play span to stop an LSU drive that started at their own 40-yard line. The defensive stand set up Auburn's next possession that resulted in a go-ahead and game-winning touchdown.

Fairley, who helped Auburn hold LSU to just 243 yards of total offense, pushed his season total for tackles for loss to 17.0, which leads the SEC and is the second-highest total in the nation. He improved his sack total to 7.5, which is second-best in the league.

Fairley had previously been named the SEC Defensive Player of the Week following his performance at Mississippi State Sept. 9, and was named the league's Defensive Lineman of the Week after Auburn's victory over ULM Oct. 2 and after the Tigers' win against Arkansas Oct. 16. No Auburn defensive player has ever before received four SEC weekly awards in one season.

The 12 semifinalists are:

Nick Fairley, Defensive Line, Auburn, 6-5, 298, Jr., Mobile, AL

Sam Acho, Defensive End, Texas, 6-3, 260, Sr., Dallas, TX

Jeremy Beal, Defensive End, Oklahoma, 6-3, 267, Sr. Carrollton, TX

Da'quan Bowers, Defensive End, Clemson, 6-4, 275, Jr., Bamberg, SC

Adrian Clayborn, Defensive End, Iowa, 6-4, 285, Sr., St. Louis, MO

Jared Crick, Defensive Tackle, Nebraska, 6-6, 285, Jr, Cozad, NE

Cameron Heyward, Defensive Tackle, Ohio State, 6-5, 288, Sr., Suwanee, GA

Rodney Hudson, Offensive Guard, Florida State, 6-2, 282, Sr., Mobile, AL

Greg Jones, Linebacker, Michigan State, 6-1, 240, Sr., Cincinnati, OH

Ryan Kerrigan, Defensive End, Purdue, 6-4, 263, Sr., Muncie, IN

Jake Kirkpatrick, Center, TCU, 6-3, 305, Sr., Tyler, TX

Drake Nevis, Defensive Tackle, LSU, 6-5, 285, Sr., Marrero, LA

For tickets and sponsorship information, visit

The Rotary Lombardi Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official Web site,

Founded in 1912, the Rotary Club of Houston, a service organization comprised of professional and community leaders, serves our community through its numerous public health, youth, international and local activities. Projects and events such as the Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International, the Rotary Lombardi Award. the Distinguished Citizens Award, Camp Enterprise, Polio eradication and much more touch the lives of our global community.



Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Store


Shop for your favorite summer items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information