Skip to main content Skip to footer
Kody Bliss Named To Ray Guy Award Watch List

Sept. 12, 2006

AUBURN - Auburn senior punter Kody Bliss has been named to the Ray Guy Award Watch List, the Greater Augusta Sports Council announced Tuesday.

The award is given annually to the nation's top Division I-A collegiate punter. Thirty-one punters made the initial watch list; Bliss is one of five from the Southeastern Conference.

Bliss enters Auburn's game Saturday against LSU with an SEC-leading 48-yard per punt average through the first two games. He has trapped opponents inside their own 20 three times and booted a season-high 56 yarder in the second quarter against Washington State on Sept. 2.

Bliss currently ranks second in Auburn's all-time history with a 43.48 yards per punt average for his career. He is sixth with 7,000 total punt yards and seventh with 161 punts. The Brentwood, Tenn., native averaged better than 42 yards per punt in each of his three seasons leading up to 2006 and earned Associated Press and Coaches' All-SEC First-Team honors in 2005.

The award winner will be selected by a committee formed by sportswriters, college football coaches, sports information directors, former punters and members designed by the Greater Augusta Sports Council. Statistics taken into account for the award include total yardage punted, number of punts downed inside the 20, net average, average returned yardage and percentage of punts not returned.

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists in early November, with three finalists announced in late November. The winner will be announced on ESPN during the Home Depot College Football Awards show on Dec. 7.

Bliss, Auburn and LSU will kick off at 2:30 p.m. CT., Saturday at Pat Dye Field at Jordan-Hare Stadium. The game will air live on CBS.



Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information