Skip to main content Skip to footer
Nick Marshall among 10 Auburn players on coaches All-SEC
Aug. 21, 2014

Nick Marshall is one of three Auburn first-teamers on the coaches' All-SEC team

By Charles Goldberg
AUBURN, Ala. The dual-threat quarterback, the big-play receiver and the veteran center who helped make Auburn's high-powered offense go last season are back this year on the coaches All-SEC first team that was announced Thursday. 

Quarterback Nick Marshall, receiver Sammie Coates and center Reese Dismukes were named to the select team to lead 10 Tigers to preseason honors.


Marshall, Coates and Dismukes are first-teamers. Tight end C.J. Uzomah, defensive lineman Gabe Wright, defensive back Jonathon Mincy and offensive lineman Alex Kozan were named to the second team. Named to the third team were offensive lineman Chad Slade, defensive lineman Montravius Adams and defensive back Robenson Therezie.


Marshall, Coates and Dismukes are among Auburn players who are candidates for national post-season awards.


Marshall passed for almost 2,000 yards and ran for another 1,000 last season while accounting for 26 touchdowns. He was just the fourth quarterback in league history to rush for at least 1,000 yards.


Coates returns as Auburn's leading receiver after catching 42 passes and averaging 21.5 yards per reception. Dismukes is back for his fourth season in a career that started as a member of the All-SEC freshman team and has continued through the years on national award watch lists.


One of Auburn's selection, Kozan, is out for the season following back surgery in July.


Seven schools had seven or more All-SEC players. Ten schools had at least one player on the first team. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own player.


On the national scene, Marshall is on the watch lists for the Manning Award, the Walter Camp Award, the Davey O'Brien Award and the Maxwell Award.


Dismukes is on the watch lists the Lombardi, Outland and Rimington awards. Coates is on the watch lists for the Bilentikoff Award and the Maxwell.


Wright is on the watch lists for the Outland and the Bronco Nagurski awards. Uzomah is on the watch list for the Mackey Award. Therezie is on the watch list for Chuck Bednarik Award. Kozan is on the watch list for the Outland Award. Also, Kris Frost is on the watch list for the Butkus Award.


Charles Goldberg is a Senior Writer for Follow him on Twitter:
Auburn Football Tickets



Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information