Pat Dye To Be Inducted Into College Football Hall of Fame
AUBURNTIGERSDOTCOM Former Auburn football coach Pat Dye
Former Auburn football coach Pat Dye

Aug. 10, 2006

AUBURN - Former Auburn football coach Pat Dye will be inducted into The National Football Foundation's (NFF) College Football Hall of Fame on August 11-12 in South Bend, Ind.

Dye will be inducted at Saturday night's Enshrinement Reception, Silent Auction and Dinner and Show, to be held at the Century Center.

Dye posted a 153-62-5 record in 19 years as a Division I head coach, including a 99-39-4 record in 12 seasons at Auburn. Dye spent six seasons as the head coach at East Carolina (1974-79) and one season at Wyoming (1980) before coming to Auburn.

"Auburn is a place where something like this can happen and I think it's a tremendous tribute to this institution," Dye said. "The history and tradition that Coach Jordan and Coach Donahue built a long time ago laid the foundation for something like this. Tommy's football team and the job he's done with this program played a part in this."

Auburn won four Southeastern Conference Championships under Dye's leadership, claiming league crowns in 1983, 1987, 1988, and 1989. In a nine-year span from 1982-90, Dye directed Auburn to an 84-22-3 record and a .784 winning percentage, the third best in the country during that time.

Dye joins former Auburn coaches John W. Heisman, Mike Donahue and Ralph "Shug" Jordan in the Hall of Fame. Former Tiger players in the Hall of Fame include Jimmy Hitchcock, Walter Gilbert, Pat Sullivan, Tucker Frederickson, Bo Jackson, Terry Beasley and Tracy Rocker.

Under Dye, Auburn posted four 10-win seasons and won six bowl games in nine appearances. A three-time SEC Coach of the Year and 1983 National Coach of the Year, Dye is one of only seven coaches in college football history to have coached a winner of the Heisman Trophy (Bo Jackson, 1985), Outland Trophy (Tracy Rocker, 1988) and Lombardi Trophy (Tracy Rocker, 1988). At Auburn, Dye coached 21 All-Americans, 71 All-SEC players and 48 Academic All-SEC players.

In addition to Dye, Coach Don Nehlen of West Virginia will also be included in the 2005 class. The 2005 class of players includes Cornelius Bennett, Alabama; Tom Curtis, Michigan; Anthony Davis, Southern California; Keith Dorney, Penn State; Jim Houston, Ohio State; John Huarte, Notre Dame; Roosevelt Leaks, Texas; Mark May, Pittsburgh; Joe Washington, Oklahoma; Paul Wiggin, Stanford; and David Williams, Illinois.

The College Football Hall of Fame is located in South Bend, Ind. To be eligible for selection, a coach is eligible three years after retirement or immediately following retirement provided he is at least 70 years of age. He must have been a head coach for a minimum of 10 years and coached at least 100 games with a .600 winning percentage.