McCalebb On Doak Walker List


July 19, 2012

Doak Walker watch list Get Acrobat Reader

DALLAS, TEXAS - The PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced today the preseason candidates for the 2012 Doak Walker Award. The award is presented annually to the nation?fs top college running back.

The field of 52 candidates is highlighted by 2011 Doak Walker Award finalist Montee Ball from the University of Wisconsin. Ball, a senior from Wentzville, Missouri, led the nation in rushing yards and scoring last season. Other nominees include 2011 semifinalists Rex Burkhead (Nebraska), Zach Line (SMU) and Joseph Randle (Oklahoma State). Nominations for the award will be accepted through October.

The complete list of candidates, who were nominated by their universities, follows:

Michael Alisa (Jr.), BYU

Montee Ball (Sr.), Wisconsin

Kenjon Barner (Sr.), Oregon

Le?OeVeon Bell (Jr.), Michigan State

Giovani Bernard (So.), North Carolina

Rex Burkhead (Sr.), Nebraska

Jesse Callier (Jr.), Washington

Benny Cunningham (Sr.), Middle Tennessee

Orleans Darkwa (Jr.), Tulane

Knile Davis (Jr.), Arkansas

Andre Ellington (Sr.), Clemson

Johnathan Franklin (Sr.), UCLA

Ray Graham (Sr.), Pittsburgh

Gee Gee Greene (Sr.), Navy

Jordan Hall (Sr.), Ohio State

D.J. Harper (Sr.), Boise State

John Hubert (Jr.), Kansas State

Michael James (Sr.), Miami

Waymon James (Jr.), TCU

Nathan Jeffery (So.), UTEP

Walter Kazee (Sr.), San Diego State

Eddie Lacy (Jr.), Alabama

Marcus Lattimore (Jr.), South Carolina

Hunter Lee (So.), Louisiana Tech

Zach Line (Sr.), SMU

Raymond Maples (Jr.), Army

Cameron Marshall (Sr.), Arizona State

Onterio McCalebb (Sr.), Auburn

Lyle McCombs (So.), Connecticut

Curtis McNeal (Sr.), USC

Christine Michael (Sr.), Texas A&M

Latavius Murray (Sr.), UCF

Branden Oliver (Jr.), Buffalo

Joseph Randle (Jr.), Oklahoma State

Silas Redd (Jr.), Penn State

Kedrick Rhodes (Jr.), Florida International

Robbie Rouse (Sr.), Fresno State

Jarred Salubi (Sr.), Baylor

Anthon Samuel (So.), Bowling Green

Orwin Smith (Sr.), Georgia Tech

Isi Sofele (Sr.), California

Shawn Southward (Sr.), Troy

Zac Stacy (Sr.), Vanderbilt

Eric Stephens (Sr.), Texas Tech

Stepfan Taylor (Sr.), Stanford

Fitzgerald Toussaint (Jr.), Michigan

Matthew Tucker (Sr.), TCU

James White (Jr.), Iowa State

James White (Jr.), Wisconsin

John White (Sr.), Utah

Kerwynn Williams (Sr.), Utah State

Cierre Wood (Sr.), Notre Dame


The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name the semifinalists on November 9, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the finalists, who will be announced on November 19. The committee will cast a second vote beginning on November 26 to determine the recipient.

The National Selection Committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives. The recipient of the 2012 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 6, on ESPN. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held in Dallas, Texas, in February 2013. The award, in its 23nd year, is named for SMU?fs three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification. ###

Honoring the legends of sports for 23 years, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum celebrates outstanding success in athletics. Based in Dallas, the series features major figures from a variety of sports. The PwC SMU Athletic Forum includes four luncheons and the prestigious Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet. The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game?fs predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association?fs official website,