Skip to main content Skip to footer
Braden Smith named to Outland Trophy watch list
Senior offensive lineman Braden Smith has been named to the Outland Trophy watch list.
July 13, 2017

Braden Smith has been selected to the Outland Trophy preseason watch list for the second consecutive season. The 6-6, 303-lb. offensive lineman from Olathe, Kan., finished as an all-SEC first team performer in 2016 and received All-America honors from CBS Sports (second team) and Phil Steele (third team).

The senior has played in 39 games for the Tigers with 27 consecutive starts. Since his time began on The Plains, Smith has been selected to some variation of an all-SEC team. In 2014, he earned a place on the all-SEC freshman team followed by a second team all-SEC season in 2015.

Smith has been listed on several preseason All-America and all-conference teams. A two-year starter at left guard, Smith could provide stability at numerous spots along the offensive line as a senior in 2017.

In 1958, Zeke Smith won the Outland Trophy while placing on the all-SEC first team. Tracy Rocker won the Outland in 1988 while also taking home the Lombardi Award, making him the first SEC player to do so.

Since Rocker’s accolade, no Tiger has been presented the award but Wayne Gandy (1993), Marcus McNeill (2005) and Reese Dismukes (2014) were all Outland finalists.

Named after 1987 All-American John Outland of the University of Pennsylvania, the Outland Trophy is the third oldest award in college football (since 1946), behind the Heisman Trophy and Maxwell Award.



Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information