Skip to main content Skip to footer
Cody Parkey On Lou Groza Watch List

July 11, 2012

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. - Auburn placekicker Cody Parkey is among the outstanding kickers who headline the thirty-player Watch List for the 2012 Lou Groza College Place-Kicker Award, presented by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission.

Kickers on the Lou Groza Award Watch List were chosen based on statistics from the 2011 season and 2012 expectations. Ten conferences are represented among the 30 kickers, led by seven from the Big Ten. The SEC follows with six, along with four each from the ACC and the Pac-12. The Big 12, Conference USA and Sun Belt each placed two representatives, while the Big East, MAC and Mountain West each had a kicker recognized. While the Watch List highlights thirty of the best returning kickers in the country, the Groza Committee will be watching all FBS kickers during the season, and releasing a weekly "Stars of the Week" feature on

Accomplishments are tabulated throughout the season and the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award announces its 20 semifinalists on Monday, November 5th. From this list, a panel of more than 300 experts selects the top three finalists for the award by Monday, November 19th. That same group then selects the national winner, who will be announced on Thursday, December 6th during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Award Show, broadcast live from Orlando, Fla.

The 21st Annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, presented by the Orange Bowl Committee, recognizes the three finalists during an early week celebration in Palm Beach County, culminating with a gala awards banquet on December 4th, prior to joining ESPN in Orlando.

The Award is named for National Football League Hall of Fame kicker Lou "The Toe" Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. Although an All-Pro offensive lineman as well, Groza ushered in the notion that there should be a place on an NFL roster for a kicker.



For more information on the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award and to see the "Stars of the Week" throughout the season, please go to For even more updates on the best kicking performances throughout the season, follow @LouGrozaAward on Twitter.

2012 Lou Groza Award watch list

Drew Alleman, LSU

Brett Baer, Louisiana-Lafayette

Drew Basil, Ohio State

Tyler Bitancurt, West Virginia

Maikon Bonani, South Florida

Chris Boswell, Rice

Chandler Catanzaro, Clemson

Dan Conroy, Michigan State

Mitch Ewald, Indiana

Anthony Fera, Penn State

Andrew Furney, Washington State

Brendan Gibbons, Michigan

Jack Griffin, Florida International

Andre Heidari, Southern Cal

Parker Herrington, Air Force

Zach Hocker, Arkansas

Dustin Hopkins, Florida State

Michael Hunnicutt, Oklahoma

Ty Long, UAB

Brett Maher, Nebraska

Craig McIntosh, Kentucky

Mike Meyer, Iowa

Jimmy Newman, Wake Forest

Cody Parkey, Auburn

Quinn Sharp, Oklahoma State

Jeremy Shelley, Alabama

Caleb Sturgis, Florida

Matt Weller, Ohio

Jake Wieclaw, Miami (Fla.)

Jordan Williamson, Stanford

Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information