Skip to main content Skip to footer
Nick Marshall and Auburn kicking off SEC Media Days

July 9, 2014

SEC Media Days will be the next stop for Auburn quarterback Nick Marshall and center Reese Dismukes

By Charles Goldberg

AUBURN, Ala. -- They were on the biggest college stage of all last season, so a trip to SEC Media Days should be an easy trip for Auburn's Nick Marshall, Reese Dismukes and Gabe Wright on Monday. 

The three who played for the national championship last year will help kick off the four-day conference meeting in Hoover. Auburn is the first team up and will go with those three players and 2013 SEC and national coach of the year Gus Malzahn. 

Marshall, the quarterback; Dismukes, the center; and Wright, a defensive lineman, will arrive carrying preseason notice. Marshall has landed on various preseason SEC team as well the watch list for the Maxwell Award, which goes to the nation's best player. He passed for almost 2,000 yards and ran for another 1,000 while accounting for 26 touchdowns last season. 

Dismukes is on the watch list for the Rimington Trophy, which goes to the nation's top center. He was on the All-SEC team last year and has started 37 games. He has 62 career tackles, with half coming last year. 

Marshall is the first Auburn quarterback to attend media days since Brandon Cox put in an appearance in 2007. It has been a select club of Auburn quarterbacks who have attended SEC Media Days since the event began in 1987: Cox, Ben Leard, Jason Campbell, current Auburn assistant Dameyune Craig and Stan White have gone before.

Auburn's Media Days delegation in 2013 would go on to do well. 

Defensive end Dee Ford led Auburn in sacks and was drafted in the first round by Kansas City. Fullback Jay Prosch won acclaim for blocking, and was drafted in the sixth round by Houston. Defensive back Chris Davis returned the missed field goal that beat Alabama, and signed a free agent contract with San Diego. 

Auburn's SEC Media Days participants
1987:     Stacy Searels, Kevin Porter
1988:     N/A
1989:     Craig Ogletree, Rob Selby
1990:     Ed King, David Rocker
1991:     Corey Barlow, Bob Meeks
1992:     Fred Baxter, Chris Gray
1993:     Stan White (QB), Wayne Gandy (OL)
1994:     Frank Sanders (WR), Chris Shelling (DB)
1995:     Stephen Davis (RB), Anthony Harris
1996:     Willie Gosha (WR), Marcellus Mostella
1997:     Dameyune Craig (QB), Takeo Spikes (LB)
1998:     Karsten Bailey (WR), Charles Dorsey
1999:     Jeno James (OL), Jimmy Brumbaugh (DL)
2000:     Ben Leard (QB), Rob Pate (DB)
2001:     Kendall Simmons (OL), James Callier (WR)
2002:     Lorenzo Diamond (TE), Dontarrious Thomas (LB)
2003:     Jason Campbell (QB), Karlos Dansby (LB)
2004:     Carnell Williams (RB), Junior Rosegreen (DB)
2005:     Marcus McNeill (OL), Travis Williams (LB)
2006:     Courtney Taylor (WR), Will Herring (LB)
2007:     Brandon Cox (QB), Quentin Groves  (DL)
2008:     Jason Bosley (OL), Sen’Derrick Marks (DL)
2009:     Tommy Trott (TE), Antonio Coleman (DL)
2010:     Lee Ziemba (OT), Josh Bynes (LB), Aairon Savage (DB)
2011:     Philip Lutzenkirchen (TE), Emory Blake (WR), Nosa Eguae (DE)
2012:     Philip Lutzenkirchen (TE), Emory Blake (WR), Corey Lemonier (DE)
2013:     Chris Davis (CB), Dee Ford (DE), Jay Prosch (FB)
2014:     Reese Dismukes (C), Nick Marshall (QB), Gabe Wright (DL)

The complete list of this year's participants from all 14 SEC schools is here.

SEC Media Days schedule

Monday, July 14
Auburn – Gus Malzahn
Florida – Will Muschamp
Vanderbilt – Derek Mason  

Tuesday, July 15
Mississippi State – Dan Mullen
South Carolina – Steve Spurrier
Tennessee – Butch Jones
Texas A&M – Kevin Sumlin

Wednesday, July 16
Arkansas – Bret Bielema
LSU – Les Miles
Missouri – Gary Pinkel 

Thursday, July 17
Alabama – Nick Saban
Georgia – Mark Richt
Kentucky – Mark Stoops
Ole Miss – Hugh Freeze 

Charles Goldberg is a Senior Writer at Follow him on Twitter:
Auburn Football Tickets



Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information