Skip to main content Skip to footer
Pat Dye To Enter College Football Hall Of Fame

Pat Dye To Enter College Football Hall Of Fame

May 18, 2005

 05Headshot -- Pat Dye_51805

 Pat Dye

AUBURN -- Former Auburn football coach Pat Dye was selected for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame announced the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame Wednesday. Dye, who was head coach at Auburn from 1981-92, will be the eleventh Auburn coach or player inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

"I'm deeply appreciative and humbled by this honor," said Dye. "It's an overwhelming experience to look back over my career in football and see the people who played a part in it. It wasn't just me.  The players, coaches and support staff all played a role in our success."

Dye posted a 153-62-5 record in 19 years as a Division I head coach, including a 99-39-4 record in 12 seasons at Auburn.  Dye spent six seasons as the head coach at East Carolina (1974-79) and one season at Wyoming (1980) before coming to Auburn.

"Auburn is a place where something like this can happen and I think it's a tremendous tribute to this institution," Dye said. "The history and tradition that Coach Jordan and Coach Donahue built a long time ago laid the foundation for something like this. Tommy's football team this past year and the job he's done with this program played a part in this. Auburn's been in the headlines all year."

Auburn won four Southeastern Conference Championships under Dye's leadership, claiming league crowns in 1983, 1987, 1988, and 1989.  In a nine-year span from 1982-90, Dye directed Auburn to an 84-22-3 record and a .784 winning percentage, the third best in the country during that time.

Dye joins former Auburn coaches John W. Heisman, Mike Donahue and Ralph "Shug" Jordan in the Hall of Fame. Former Tiger players in the Hall of Fame include Jimmy Hitchcock, Walter Gilbert, Pat Sullivan, Tucker Frederickson, Bo Jackson, Terry Beasley and Tracy Rocker.

Under Dye, Auburn posted four 10-win seasons and won six bowl games in nine appearances.  A three-time SEC Coach of the Year and 1983 National Coach of the Year, Dye is one of only seven coaches in college football history to have coached a winner of the Heisman Trophy (Bo Jackson, 1985), Outland Trophy (Tracy Rocker,

1988) and Lombardi Trophy (Tracy Rocker, 1988). At Auburn, Dye coached 21 All-Americans, 71 All-SEC players and 48 Academic All-SEC players.

In addition to Dye, Coach Don Nehlen of West Virginia will also be included in the 2005 class.  The 2005 class of players includes Cornelius Bennett, Alabama; Tom Curtis, Michigan; Anthony Davis, Southern California; Keith Dorney, Penn State; Jim Houston, Ohio State; John Huarte, Notre Dame; Roosevelt Leaks, Texas; Mark May, Pittsburgh; Joe Washington, Oklahoma; Paul Wiggin, Stanford; and David Williams, Illinois.

The College Football Hall of Fame is located in South Bend, Ind.  To be eligible for selection, a coach is eligible three years after retirement or immediately following retirement provided he is at least 70 years of age.  He must have been a head coach for a minimum of 10 years and coached at least 100 games with a .600 winning percentage.



Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information