Tuberville To Team With Pat Sullivan At Chick-fil-A Bowl Alma Mater
AUBURNTIGERSDOTCOM Tommy Tuberville and Pat Sullivan
Tommy Tuberville and Pat Sullivan

April 15, 2008

Greensboro, GA - With the Chick-fil-A Bowl Alma Mater at Reynolds Plantation only 14 days away, several returning coaches have named their celebrity alumnus partners. The April 29 golf event will provide $375,000 in scholarship donations to the participating universities.

Auburn University Head Coach Tommy Tuberville will play with former All-American Tigers quarterback and current Samford University head coach Pat Sullivan. While at Auburn, Sullivan led the Tigers to a 26-7 record and was awarded the Heisman Trophy in 1971.

Head Coach Nick Saban from the University of Alabama has selected former Crimson Tide and Oakland Raider quarterback Ken Stabler. Stabler helped lead Alabama to back-to-back National Championships in 1965 and 1966 and finished his college career a combined 28-3-2. He later led the Raiders to a Super Bowl victory in 1977.

Ralph Friedgen, University of Maryland head coach, will team up with former Terps QB and NFL veteran Neil O'Donnell, who led the Pittsburgh Steelers to Super Bowl XXX. O'Donnell also played with the New Your Jets, Cincinnati Bengals and Tennessee Titans during his 14-year career.

Head Coach Steve Spurrier from the University of South Carolina has selected former Gamecocks wide receiver and Green Bay Packers' All-Pro Sterling Sharpe. As a wide receiver at the University of South Carolina, Sharpe set school records with 169 career receptions and 2,497 receiving yards and a since-broken record of 17 career touchdowns. Sharpe is currently an NFL analyst with the NFL Network.

The Chick-fil-A Bowl Alma Mater at Reynolds Plantation will be played April 29 and features pairings that include a university head coach and a celebrity alumnus from the same school competing in a scramble format against other university teams from around the country.

The unparalleled field will also include defending champions Frank Beamer and Dell Curry of Virginia Tech and other top NCAA head coaches and celebrities. In all, 14 teams are scheduled to hit the links - all vying for the $100,000 first-place prize.



The 2008 field now includes:

TEAM:            COACH:             CELEBRITY:
Alabama          Nick Saban         Ken Stabler
Auburn           Tommy Tuberville   Pat Sullivan
Boston College   Jeff Jagodinski    Chris O'Donnell
Georgia Tech     Paul Johnson       Jon Barry
Maryland         Ralph Friedgen     Neil O'Donnell
South Carolina   Steve Spurrier     Sterling Sharpe
UCLA             Rick Neuheisel     Sinjin Smith
UConn            Jim Calhoun        Donny Marshall
Virginia Tech    Frank Beamer       Dell Curry
Wake Forest      Jim Grobe          Billy Packer

More new teams will be announced prior to the event.

The celebrity round will be taped for broadcast and aired nationally by CBS from 2 - 4 p.m. (ET) on Christmas Day. The made-for-TV portion is being produced by Savlov Consulting, Inc.

In addition to the $375,000 scholarship purse, another $50,000 of the proceeds will be donated to the Reynolds Foundation.

For more information on the event, visit