Skip to main content Skip to footer
Heisman Trophy Winners to be Honored with Statues Outside Jordan-Hare Stadium

April 14, 2011

AUBURN -- Auburn will honor Heisman Trophy winners Pat Sullivan (1971), Bo Jackson (1985) and Cam Newton (2010) with statues of their likeness to be placed on the entry plaza on the east side of Jordan-Hare Stadium, announced Athletics Director Jay Jacobs Thursday. The statue unveiling is slated to occur during the 2011-12 academic year.

The bronze statues, which are one and a half times life size and each weighs over 1,900 pounds, were designed and sculpted by Ken Bjorge of Big Fork, Montana. Pedestals for each of the statues will be installed this spring. A bust of John Heisman has also been commissioned and will be located near the statues at the east entry plaza. Heisman, for whom the famed trophy is named, was Auburn's head coach from 1895-99. Auburn is the only school where Heisman coached that also has a Heisman Trophy winner.

"Auburn University has a rich Heisman heritage and we felt like it was time to recognize the lasting contributions of our Heisman Trophy winners that span four decades," Director of Athletics Jay Jacobs said. "The statues on the east side of Jordan-Hare Stadium will forever capture the greatness of Pat Sullivan, Bo Jackson and Cam Newton so generations to come will know and understand what these former greats mean to Auburn football."

Planning and production for the Jackson and Sullivan statues began in the spring of 2010. Production for the Newton statue began in February and is expected to be completed in the fall of 2011. Auburn is tied for fifth all-time with three Heisman winners.

The first Heisman winner in school history, Sullivan threw for 2,012 and 20 touchdowns during the 1971 season which saw him break every school passing records en route to leading the team to a 9-2 record and an appearance in the Sugar Bowl.

Jackson claimed the 1985 Heisman Trophy after rushing for a then school record 1,786 yards, 17 touchdowns. The Bessemer, Ala., native averaged 162.4 yards rushing per game that season while breaking several school records.

This past season, Newton became the school's third Heisman Trophy winner after throwing for 2,854 yards and rushing for 1,473. The College Park, Ga., native led the Tigers to the BCS National Championship and SEC while accounting for a school-record 51 touchdowns.



Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information