Skip to main content Skip to footer
Cam Newton adds NFL MVP to his Auburn Heisman Trophy
Feb. 6, 2016

Cam Newton: From Auburn to NFL MVP
Cam Newton: From Auburn to NFL MVP

By Charles Goldberg

Cam Newton's dazzling football career has another trophy.

The quarterback who won the Heisman Trophy at Auburn on the way to leading the Tigers to the 2010 national championship was named the National Football League's Most Valuable Player on Saturday on the eve of yet another big game for Newton.

He'll lead the Carolina Panthers against Denver in the 50th Super Bowl on Sunday.

Newton gives Auburn three MVP awards in America's three major professional sports. Charles Barkley was named the NBA's MVP for the 1992-93 season, Frank Thomas was the American League MVP in baseball in 1993 and 1994, and Josh Donaldson was named the AL MVP last season.

Only Auburn, Texas and Michigan State have produced MVPs in the three major sports.

Saturday was Newton's turn, as the NFL MVP and as the league's offensive player of the year. The vote was overwhelming for the MVP Award. Newton won 48 of the 50 possible votes from The Associated Press. Tom Brady and Carson Palmer each earned one vote.

Newton is the first player in NFL history with at least 30 touchdown passes and eight touchdown runs in the same season. He's run this season's totals to 35 touchdown passes and 10 touchdown runs. He has completed 296-of-495 passes for 3,837 yards and 35 touchdowns. He's rushed for 636 yards and 10 TDs.

Before all of that, he graduated from Auburn last year.

Newton has 32 games with both a rushing and passing touchdown, 20 more than any other quarterback since the start of the 2011 season.

Newton thanked fans for their support.

"Without the fans, there wouldn't be me," Newton said. "Thank you for supporting me. I would also like to thank every person who doubted me, because you made me better."

AP Most Valuable Player                 Cam Newton, QB Carolina Panthers
AP Coach of the Year                       Ron Rivera Carolina Panthers
AP Comeback Player of the Year     Eric Berry, S Kansas City Chiefs
AP Offensive Player of the Year      Cam Newton, QB Carolina Panthers
AP Defensive Player of the Year      J.J. Watt, DE Houston Texans
AP Offensive Rookie of the Year      Todd Gurley, RB Los Angeles Rams
AP Defensive Rookie of the Year     Marcus Peters, CB Kansas City
Rooney Sportsmanship Award        Charles Woodson, S Oakland Raiders
Walter Payton NFL Man of Year      Anquan Boldin, WR San Francisco 49ers
Deacon Jones Award                        J.J. Watt, DE Houston Texans

Check back for more from Cam Newton…

Charles Goldberg is a Senior Writer at Follow him on Twitter:



Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information