Skip to main content Skip to footer
Malzahn wins Bryant Award as Coach of the Year
Yet another Coach of the Year Award for Auburn's Gus Malzahn (Associated Press photo)

Jan. 15, 2014

HOUSTON, Texas – Auburn head coach Gus Malzahn was named the 2013 Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year on Wednesday at the Royal Sonesta Hotel in Houston. Malzahn became the fourth Auburn coach to win the award, joining Terry Bowden (1993), Tommy Tuberville (2004) and Gene Chizik (2010).

The award was Malzahn’s fifth national coach of the year award. He also won the 2013 FWAA/Eddie Robinson, Liberty Mutual, Home Depot and Sporting News Coach of the Year awards. Malzahn led Auburn to a 12-2 record in 2013 en route to a Southeastern Conference title and a berth in the BCS National Championship game.

In its 28th year, the Bryant Award is selected each year by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association. The award recognizes excellence in coaching both on and off the field while raising funds to fight heart disease and stroke for the American Heart Association.

Other finalists in attendance for the 2013 Bryant Coach of the Year were David Bailiff (Rice), Art Briles (Baylor), Mark Dantonio (Michigan State) and David Shaw (Stanford).

R.C. Slocum, one of the longest-serving and winningest football coaches in Texas A&M history, was also recognized with the 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award at the event.

Funds raised benefit heart disease and stroke research, community education and outreach programs of the American Heart Association.



Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information