Skip to main content Skip to footer
Samford vs. Auburn Postgame Notes

Nov. 19, 2011

Recap |  Final Stats |  Quotes |  Photo Gallery 

· Auburn team captains were DB Neiko Thorpe, DS Josh Harris, QB Barrett Trotter and DE Nosa Eguae.
· Auburn won the toss and elected to defer to the second half. Samford defended the south end zone.
· Game time weather conditions: 58 degrees, winds from east at 12 miles per hour with cloudy skies.
· The attendance was a sellout, 85,347.· Spirit flew from the flag pole prior to the game.
· Samford head coach Pat Sullivan, Auburn's 1971 Heisman Trophy winner, was honored pregame to commemorate the 40th anniversary of him winning the prestigious honor. In attendance was over 70 of his teammates, members of his family and Rob Whalen, Director of the Heisman Trust.
· Auburn's 15 seniors were recognized pregame for Senior Day. They include: PK Chandler Brooks, WR Sam Brown, WR Quindarius Carr, DB Drew Cole, TE Jake Drum, OL Jared Cooper, LB Eltoro Freeman, OL A.J. Greene, DS Josh Harris, RB Davis Hooper, LB Chris Humphries, OL Bobby Ingalls, OL Brandon Mosely, DB Neiko Thorpe and WR Jay Wisner.
· RB Onterrio McCalebb wore No. 22 instead of his usual No. 23 to honor injured teammate T'Sharvan Bell.
· The 2011 Homecoming Queen named at halftime was Sophie Burge of Vestavia Hills, Ala. The four other finalists were Elizabeth Williams (Dothan), Haley Bagwell (Hoover), Kimberly Jones (Auburn), and Laurin Sanders (Auburn).

· Auburn now leads the all-time series with Samford, 26-0-1.
· The win improved Auburn's Homecoming record to 72-8-5 and was its 20th consecutive Homecoming victory.
· Auburn has now won 14 consecutive games in Jordan-Hare Stadium, tied for the fifth longest in stadium history and longest since winning 16 consecutive from 1988-90.
· Auburn has now won 17 consecutive games and is 20-1 under Gene Chizik when intercepting a pass. Neiko Thorpe had an interception in the second quarter.
· TE Philip Lutzenkirchen's first quarter touchdown reception was his team-leading seventh receiving TD of the season and 14th of his career. He is now tied with Lawyer Tillman for seventh all-time in touchdown receptions at Auburn.
· RB Onterio McCalebb's 10-yard rushing touchdown in the second quarter was the 16th of his career.
· McCalebb's 10-yard rushing touchdown in the fourth quarter was the 17th of his career.
· DB Neiko Thorpe's interception in the second quarter was his team-leading third of the season and seventh of his career.
· Michael Dyer rushed for 157 yards, his 10th 100-yard rushing game of his career. Dyer is tied for ninth all-time at AU with Rudi Johnson and James Bostic for career 100-yard rushing games.
· It was Dyer's fifth career game rushing for more than 150 yards, and the fourth this season.
· Dyer is now 10th all-time at Auburn in career rushing yards with 2,287, passing James Joseph with 2,264.
· Dyer is now 14th on Auburn's single-season rushing list with 1,194 yards, passing Carnell Williams with 1,165. Dyer needs 19 more rushing yards this season to break into the top-10 on the single-season rushing list.
· Quan Bray's 24-yard punt return in the second quarter was the longest of his career and the longest by an Auburn player since 2008 when Robert Dunn had a 66-yard return for touchdown against Louisiana-Monroe.
· Clint Moseley's 22-yard touchdown run was a career long and first rushing TD of his career.
· Ikeem Means' fourth quarter interception was the first of his career.



Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information