Rhett Lashlee
Rhett Lashlee

Offensive Coordinator


Coach Lashlee
Auburn offensive coordinator Rhett Lashlee, who helped the Tigers to a 2013 SEC Championship and a BCS Championship berth this season, has helped spearhead one of the most prolific offenses in Auburn history in 2013. For the last two seasons, he has been a finalist for the Broyles Award, presented to the nation's top assistant coach.

Auburn is tied for the biggest turnaround in college football history in NCAA records at +8.5 games. Without starting quarterback Nick Marshall going through spring workouts, Lashlee coached the junior college transfer who played defensive back as a freshman at Georgia to 2,782 yards of total offense (1759 passing and 1023 rushing) while throwing for 12 touchdowns and rushing for 11 TDs.

Auburn led the nation rushing for 335.7 yards per game, was ranked 11th in total offense with 505.3 yards per game, 12th in scoring offense with 40.2 points per game, 13th with 309 first downs and 19th in red zone offense efficiency (51-of-57, .895).

The Tigers set a school record with 45 rushing touchdowns on the season, set a school record against SEC opponents with 677 yards of total offense vs. No. 5 Missouri in the SEC Championship Game.

The Tigers set SEC Championship Game team records for rushing 26 first downs, 74 rushing attempts, 545 rushing yards and seven rushing touchdowns.

Junior Tre Mason, a Heisman Trophy finalist and SEC Player of the Year, ranks third in the nation with 22 touchdowns, is sixth nationally with 1,621 yards rushing, sixth with 10.6 points per game, eighth with 164.38 all-purpose yards per game and ninth with 124.7 rushing yards per game.

Mason set the Auburn single-season record with 2,137 all-purpose yards, is second with 283 rushing attempts and thid with 1,621 yards. His 46 rushing attempts and 304 rushing yards vs. No. 5 Missouri set SEC Championship Game records and was three yards shy of the Auburn record.

Wide receiver Sammie Coates ranks second in the nation with 22.13 yards per reception with 38 catches for 841 yards and seven touchdowns.

Lashlee has spent seven of the last 10 seasons working closely with head coach Gus Malzahn and his innovative offense in a variety of capacities. Lashlee also coaches the Auburn quarterbacks.

"Rhett is one of the best young offensive minds in college football," said Malzahn. "I've been with Rhett a long time, and he's been an incredibly valuable right-hand man. He has a great knowledge and understanding of Auburn and will be a tremendous asset for this program both on and off the field."

During the 2012 season as offensive coordinator at Arkansas State, Lashlee, a Broyles Award nominee as the nation's top assistant coach, helped guide ASU to a Sun Belt Championship while ranking 17th nationally in total offense (481.8 ypg), 21st in scoring offense (36.4 ppg) and rushing offense (217.4 ypg).

Under Lashlee, school and conference record-setting quarterback Ryan Aplin was named the Sun Belt Player of the Year, leading the league in passing yards, passing efficiency and total offense.

Prior to his tenure at Arkansas State, Lashlee served as the offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach at Samford in 2011, where he installed a high-tempo offense that improved the Bulldogs' national ranking in total offense from No. 57 in the nation to No. 36 over the course of just one year, while helping the Bulldogs average 28 points per game compared to 17 a game the previous year.

He helped Samford post a 6-5 record, including a 4-4 Southern Conference mark in 2011, matching its best ever as a member of the league. Samford broke the school record for points scored in a league game with 52 against Western Carolina as Lashlee helped the school jump from No. 100 in the nation in scoring offense to No. 43. He coached Samford wide receiver Kelsey Pope, who broke the school record for receptions in a game, while quarterback Dustin Taliaferro broke Samford's career record for completions.

While at Auburn as an offensive graduate assistant during the 2009-10 seasons, Lashlee assisted Malzahn with all aspects of the offense and coached the slot receivers in 2010. In 2009, the Tigers finished 8-5 winning the Outback Bowl. During the 2010 season he helped the Tigers finish 14-0, winning the Southeastern Conference Championship and the BCS National Championship behind Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Cam Newton. Lashlee's college coaching career began in 2006 at Arkansas, where he served as offensive graduate assistant while working with Malzahn, helping the Razorbacks to a 10-4 record and an SEC Western Division Championship behind Heisman Trophy runner-up Darren McFadden and fellow All-American Felix Jones. Lashlee worked with Malzahn at Springdale High School in Arkansas in 2004 and 2005, working with the quarterbacks and 2005 Gatorade, Parade Magazine and National Player of the Year Mitch Mustain.

A backup quarterback at the University of Arkansas from 2002-04, when his career was cut short due to a shoulder injury, Lashlee graduated from Shiloh Christian High School in Springdale, Ark., in 2002. He played quarterback for Malzahn (1999-2000) and Chris Wood (2001) at Shiloh Christian, posting a state-record 40 career wins (40-3-2 as a starter) while leading his team to three straight state championship game appearances that included two state titles. He was also named the 2001 AP Arkansas Player of the Year.

Lashlee owns virtually every state passing record and when his career had finished, he had broken the national record for career touchdown passes (171), career touchdowns (200), most passing yards in a game (672) and was second with 13,201 passing yards.

Lashlee graduated from Arkansas in 2006 with a degree in marketing and business administration. He received his master's degree in higher education from Auburn in 2009.

Lashlee is married to the former Lauren Lee of Rogers, Ark., an Arkansas graduate with a degree in business administration. They have 3-year-old twin boys, Thomas Price and Hudson Rhett.