Skip to main content Skip to footer

Heisman Trophy Winners

Auburn Football Tradition

Auburn has produced three Heisman Trophy winners: QB Cam Newton in 2010, RB Bo Jackson in 1985 and QB Pat Sullivan in 1971. Of the colleges where trophy namesake John Heisman coached, only Auburn University has produced Heisman winners.
Cam Newton
Cam NewtonAt 6-foot 6-inches and 250 pounds, Cam Newton was the third Auburn Tiger to earn the Heisman Trophy, joining Pat Sullivan '71 and Vincent "Bo" Jackson '85. Newton completed 185 of 280 passes for 2,854 yards and 30 touchdowns while throwing only seven interceptions. He also accumulated 1,473 yards and an additional 20 touchdowns on 264 rush attempts and caught two passes for 42 yards and a touchdown.
His passing and rushing touchdown totals set an Auburn University record and made him only the second player to tally 20 or more passing and rushing touchdowns in the same season. Newton led the Tigers to a perfect 14-0 record, an SEC title and a BCS National Championship.
Ballots were mailed to 870 media personnel across the nation plus 55 Heisman winners and one fan ballot, for a total of 926 electors. The ballots are received and tabulated by the independent accounting firm of Deloitte & Touche LLP. Newton polled 2,263 points to capture the award over Andrew Luck of Stanford (1,079 points), LaMichael James of Oregon (916 points), and Kellen Moore of Boise State (635 points).

2010 Statistics
Passing Rushing Receiving
G Cmp Att Pct Yds TDs INT Rush Yds TDs Rec Yds TDs
14 185 280 66.1 2854 30 7 264 1473 20 2 42 1
2010 Heisman Voting
Player School Year Position Points
1. Cam Newton Auburn Senior QB 2,263
2. Andrew Luck Stanford Sophomore QB 1,079
3. LaMichael James Oregon Sophomore RB 916
4. Kellen Moore Boise State Junior QB 635
5. Justin Blackmon Oklahoma State Sophomore WR 105

Bo Jackson
Bo JacksonAuburn's great running back Bo Jackson was such a remarkable all-round athlete that, if there were Heisman awards in baseball and track, he almost certainly would have won them, too. As the nation's premier ball carrier, Jackson was the spearhead of Auburn's rushing attack. Jackson plowed through defenses in 1985 for 6.4 yards per carry. The three-sport athlete ran for 1,786 yards and 17 touchdowns while helping the Tigers to an 8-4 record and a Cotton Bowl appearance.
In 1985, Jackson led the nation in all four main categories of ball-carrying as late as the eighth week of the season. At that point, he was tops in total rushing yardage, average per carry, touchdowns scored, and yards-per-game. Jackson was the second Auburn Tiger to win the Heisman Trophy.
Jackson finished his career at Auburn with 4,575 all-purpose yards and 45 total touchdowns (43 rushing and 2 receiving), with a 6.6 yards per carry average. Jackson's jersey number 34 was officially retired at Auburn in a halftime ceremony on October 31, 1992.
1985 Statistics
Rushing Receiving
G Att Yds Avg TDs Rec Yds Avg TDs
11 278 1786 6.4 17 4 73 18.3 0

1985 Heisman Voting
Player School Year Position Points
1. Bo Jackson Auburn Senior RB 1,509
2. Chuck Long Iowa Senior QB 1,464
3. Robbie Bosco BYU Senior QB 459
4. Lorenzo White Michigan State Sophomore RB 391
5. Vinny Testaverde Miami (Fla.) Junior QB 249
Pat Sullivan
Pat SullivanPat Sullivan, a three-season starter at Auburn was the first Heisman winner from a school coached by the trophy's namesake, John Heisman.
With Sullivan at the helm, the Tigers averaged well over 34 points and 426 yards a game throughout his three-year tenure. Sullivan himself accounted for 73 touchdowns (18 running and 55 passing) to equal the all-time NCAA mark. In his senior season in 1971, Sullivan led Auburn to a 9-2 record and a Sugar Bowl appearance. With Sullivan at quarterback from 1969-1971, Auburn would go 25-5 overall.
Also an excellent student, Sullivan was named an Academic All-American and graduated with a bachelor's of science in business administration in 1972. Sullivan finished his college career with 6,284 passing yards and 57 touchdowns, along with another 18 touchdowns on the ground.
1971 Statistics
Passing Rushing
G Cmp Att Pct Yds TDs INT Att Yds Avg TDs
11 182 325 56.0 2262 21 13 50 66 1.3 2
1971 Heisman Voting
Player School Year Position Points
1. Pat Sullivan Auburn Senior QB 1,597
2. Ed Marinaro Cornell Senior RB 1,445
3. Gregg Pruitt Oklahoma Junior RB 586
4. Johnny Musso Alabama Senior RB 365
5. Lydell Mitchell Penn State Senior RB 251

Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information