Skip to main content Skip to footer
Game Notes: Auburn 59, Missouri 42
Return to Recap

Game captains for Auburn: Chris Davis, Reese Dismukes. First-time starters for Auburn: none
Auburn appeared in the SEC Championship Game for the first time since 2010 and the fifth time overall (1997, 2000, 2004, 2010, 2013).
Auburn's 59 points scored broke an SEC Championship game record previously set by the Tigers in 2010 versus South Carolina. 59 points against Missouri also marks the third-most points Auburn has scored against an SEC opponent in school history
Auburn's 677 yards of total offense against Missouri sets a school record against SEC opponents, 4th-most in school history
Auburn's 545 rushing yards is the third-most gained this season on the ground, only Wisconsin (554) and BYU (550) have accumulated more yards in a single-game this season
Auburn's 677 yards of total offense is the fourth time this year that the Tigers have eclipsed the 600-yard mark. The season-high was 712 against Western Carolina
The 38-yard first quarter touchdown pass from Nick Marshall to Sammie Coates was Marshall's 12th TD pass of the season and Coates' 7th TD reception of the year; all 7 of his TD catches have been for 36 yards or better.
Coates' 841 receiving yards this season rank ninth on Auburn's single season list, passing Freddy Weygand (796 in 1984) and Karsten Bailey (840 in 1997).

Marshall's 9-yard TD run in the first quarter was his 11th rushing TD of the season.
Tre Mason is now the Auburn single-season record-holder for all-purpose yards with 2,137; he broke the record set by Bo Jackson in 1985 (1,859).
Mason's 195 yards rushing in the first half surpassed the most rushing yards Missouri has given up to any opponent team this season (184, Texas A&M). It was the second-most yards ever by an Auburn player in the first half and the third-best rushing half ever by an AU player.
Mason's 304 yards is a career-high in rushing yardage with 304 on the ground. His previous high was 181 vs. Alabama A&M in 2012; his previous SEC high was 178 vs. Texas A&M this season.
Mason recorded his eighth 100-yard rushing game of the season; that's his fifth consecutive 100-yard game and 11th of his career.
Mason has scored a rushing touchdown in in 10 consecutive games and in 17 of his last 20 contests. He has 22 rushing touchdowns this season, breaking the Auburn record of 20 set by Cam Newton in 2010, and also breaks the single season scoring mark set by Newton.
Mason's 46 carries in the game broke an Auburn record held by Carnell Williams (Georgia, 2001) and Michael Dyer (South Carolina, 2011). The previous record was 41 carries.
Mason's four rushing touchdowns tied a career-high set earlier this season at Arkansas.
Mason's attempts (46), yards (304) and touchdowns (4) set SEC Championship Game records.
Tre Mason is now in second place among Auburn single season rushers with 1,621 yards, passing Ben Tate (1,362 yards in 2009), Brent Fullwood (1,391 yards in 1986), Cam Newton (1,473 in 2010) and Rudi Johnson (1,567 in 2000). He ranks eighth among Auburn career rushers with 2,784 yards, passing Onterio McCalebb (2,586 yards from 2009-12) and Ronnie Brown (2,707 from 2000-04)
Auburn picked up its fourth game with two 100-yard rushers; Tre Mason (304) and Nick Marshall (101).
Jermaine Whitehead's interception in the second quarter was his second interception of the season and third of his career.
Auburn has 11 scoring drives of less than a minute this season.
Cody Parkey's 52-yard field goal was a career long for the senior (previous best was 47) and is 10th in Auburn records and the longest since 2008.
Nick Marshall crossed the 1,000-yard mark for the season, just the fourth QB in Auburn history to do so (Kirk Newell, Cam Newton, Jimmy Sidle).
This is the second game this season that four different Auburn players have scored a rushing touchdown; the other was Florida Atlantic.
Auburn has 45 rushing touchdowns on the season, a new school record; the previous mark was 41 in 2010.
Auburn is now 5-3-1 in games involving two AP top five teams.
Auburn 305-4 when scoring 30 points or more and has scored at least 30 points in eight straight games for the first time since 1994 (eight straight games).

Auburn has won 88 straight games when scoring 30 or more points
Auburn has won more SEC Championships this decade than any other team:
- 2010: Auburn 56, South Carolina 17
- 2011: LSU 42, Georgia 10
- 2012: Alabama 32, Georgia 28
- 2013: Auburn 59, Missouri 42
The win over Missouri gives Auburn its third SEC Championship since 2004, the most of any program in the league. Florida, LSU and Alabama each have two. Georgia owns one.
The SEC championship is Auburn's eighth all-time tying the Tigers with Tennessee for fifth-most in league history. Alabama leads the all-time list with 23.
Gus Malzahn is the third coach in SEC history, and first in 66 years, to win an SEC title in his first year at a school, joining Bernie Moore at LSU in 1935 and John Vaught at Ole Miss in 1947.
Auburn head coach Gus Malzahn is the only first-year head coach to win an SEC Championship in the 22-year history of the title game. He is the second first-year head coach in league history to reach the SEC Championship game, joining LSU's Les Miles who lost to Georgia 34-14 in 2005.
Auburn is the first team in SEC history to win the SEC Championship outright after going winless in league play the season before. In 1976, Kentucky tied Georgia with a 5-1 league record to become co-SEC Champions after a forfeit was imposed on Mississippi State by the NCAA and the SEC.
Auburn is only the fourth team to win its conference title outright a season after going winless in league play the previous season and the first to do so since 1972.
- Kent State won the Mid-American Conference with a 4-1 record after going 0-5 in 1971.
- Minnesota won the Big 10 in 1900 with a 3-0-1 record after going 0-3 in league play in 1899.
- Stanford won the Pac-10 Conference in 1940 with a 7-0 record after going 0-6-1 in 1939.
Auburn has won three-straight SEC Championship Games it has played in, a xx-xx win over Missouri in 2013, a 56-17 win over South Carolina in 2010 and a 38-28 win over Tennessee in 2004.
Auburn is unbeaten in six straight Top five matchups after it defeated then No. 1 Alabama 34-28 last week, No. 1 Auburn 22, No. 2 Oregon 19 in the BCS National Championship Game in 2011, No. 3 Auburn 26, No. 5 Tennessee 26 in 1990, No. 3 Auburn 13, at No. 4 Georgia 7 in 1983 and No. 4 Auburn 28, No. 5 Florida 21 in 1983.
- No. 4 Auburn 34, No. 1 Alabama 28 (2013)
- No. 1 Auburn, 22, No. 2 Oregon 19 (2010 BCSNCG)
- No. 3 Auburn 26, No. 5 Tennessee 26 (1990)
- No. 3 Auburn 13, No. 4 Georgia 7 (1983)
- No. 4 Auburn, 28, No. 5 Florida 21 (1983)
Auburn has won 12 games for only the third time in school history, joining a 14-0 record in 2010 and a 13-0 record in 2004.
With the win, Auburn ties Hawaii for the NCAA improvement record from one year to the next at 8.5 games. The Tigers are 12-1 in 2013 after going 3-9 last season. Hawaii went 9-4 in 2000 after finishing the 1999 season 0-12.
Nick Marshall reached 1,000 yards rushing with 1,023 yards against Missouri becoming only the fourth quarterback in SEC history to reach the plateau. Three of the quarterbacks to reach the mark played for the Tigers (Cam Newton, 2010; Jimmy Sidle, 1963 and Marshall). The only other player to reach the milestone is Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel (2012).

Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information