Skip to main content Skip to footer
Dillon Ortman named to Gregg Olson Award Watch List

May 13, 2014

Dillon Ortman was named to the Gregg Olson Award Watch List today. (Zach Bland photo)

AUBURN, Ala. - Auburn senior right-hander Dillon Ortman has been named to the watch list for the 2014 Gregg Olson Award, presented to the "Breakout Player of the Year" in college baseball by Toolshed Sports.

Ortman joins six other Southeastern Conference baseball players on the 80-man list, including Ole Miss catcher Will Allen and outfielder Auston Bousfield, Tennessee pitcher Andy Cox, Alabama pitcher Jon Keller, LSU outfielder Andrew Stevenson and Kentucky catcher Michael Thomas.

Ortman, a senior from Huntsville, has burst on the scene as one of the SEC's top pitchers in 2014, compiling a 9-3 record and 2.01 earned run average in 13 starts. He has pitched two complete games, including a complete-game shutout of Texas A&M on the opening weekend of conference play. He finds himself in the SEC's top 10 in numerous categories - he is seventh in ERA (2.01), third in innings pitched (94.0), and tied for fifth in fewest walks allowed (15).

In conference games, he has a 1.83 ERA (6th in the SEC) in 68.2 innings pitched (2nd), holding opponents to a .218 batting average (11th). His six wins in the league tie for second-most among SEC pitchers, and he has allowed two earned runs or less in eight of nine starts in league games. Since the fourth week of the season, including all nine conference games so far, he has not gone less than seven full innings in a start.

The award is named after former Auburn pitcher Gregg Olson, who became one of the top collegiate players in the nation after an initial season filled with only mixed success. Olson went on to become a two-time All-American, first-round draft pick, American League Rookie of the Year and MLB All-Star.

Initial nominations were made by sports information/media contacts from schools across the country. The finalists and winner will be determined by an independent panel.

Semifinalists are slated to be named Friday, May 30, and finalists will be announced Friday, June 6. The winner of the 2014 Gregg Olson Award will be named in Omaha, Nebraska, during the College World Series.



Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Store


Shop for your favorite summer items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information