Skip to main content Skip to footer
Auburn University Certified By NCAA

April 12, 2007

Auburn, Ala. - Auburn University was certified by the NCAA Thursday, announced the Division I Committee on Athletics Certification. Auburn was one of 46 Division I member institutions that received decisions today concerning the certification status after having undergone the Association's second cycle of athletics certification.

The purpose of athletics certification is to ensure integrity in the institution's athletics program and to assist institutions in improving their athletics departments. NCAA legislation mandating athletics certification was adopted in 1993.

"We are very pleased with the response from the NCAA regarding Auburn's self-study," said Auburn Athletics Director Jay Jacobs. "This is a culmination of an 18-month process that closely examined the athletics department with regards to governance and commitment to rules compliance, academic integrity and student-athlete welfare.

"Our goal is to become the preeminent athletics department in the country, and this is one step in achieving that goal. Auburn President Dr. Richardson and the University community are extremely supportive of Auburn Athletics, and we are very fortunate to have outstanding coaches, athletic administrators, support staff and most importantly, quality student-athletes that strive daily to help accomplish our goal."

The certification process, which involves a self-study led by an institution's president or chancellor, includes a review of these primary components: governance and commitment to rules compliance; academic integrity; equity; and student-athlete well-being.

"The Auburn family can be very proud of our athletic department," said Auburn University President Ed Richardson. "Many people have contributed to its success as evidenced by the NCAA recognition. Athletic Director Jay Jacobs, his administrative staff and our excellent coaches are to be commended. The NCAA certification demonstrates their commitment to the highest standards for our athletic programs and for our student-athletes."

A designation of certified means that an institution operates its athletics program in substantial conformity with operating principles adopted by the Division I membership.

"This self study was a result of the hard work by the steering committee and subcommittees that were headed by numerous individuals across the Auburn campus. Specifically, I'd like to thank the steering committee headed by chair Dr. Gary Waters and subcommittee chairs Dr. Mary Boudreaux, Dr. Johnny Green and Dr. Barb Struempler for their efforts with this certification."

A total of 41 institutions received certification, while five Division I institutions were certified with conditions. The second round of athletics certifications is being completed on a 10-year cycle rather than the five-year cycle used during the initial certification process. All 326 active Division I members participate in the certification process.

The Division I Committee on Athletics Certification preliminarily reviews an institution's certification materials and provides a list of issues identified during the evaluation. The university then hosts a visit by peer reviewers who file a report regarding the institution's resolution of those issues before a final certification decision is rendered. An institution's failure to satisfactorily respond to the committee may negatively impact certification status.

The certification process is separate from the NCAA's enforcement program, which investigates allegations of rules violations by NCAA member institutions. A decision of certified does not exempt an institution from concurrent or subsequent enforcement proceedings.

The NCAA Committee on Infractions may ask the Committee on Athletics Certification to review an institution's certification status as a result of the completed infractions case.

The members of the Committee on Athletics Certification are: McKinley Boston Jr., New Mexico State University; Shonna Brown, Mid-American Conference; Rita Hartung Cheng, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee; Beatrice Crane Banford, Marshall University; Rich Ensor, Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference; Kevin Hatcher, Colgate University; Gerald M. Lage, Oklahoma State University; Leo Lambert (chair), Elon University; M. Dianne Murphy, Columbia University-Barnard College; Gloria Nevarez, West Coast Conference; Donald Pope-Davis, University of Notre Dame; Allison Rich, California State University, Fullerton; Mary Ann Rohleder, Indiana University, Bloomington; Greg Sankey, Southeastern Conference; and Jon Steinbrecher, Ohio Valley Conference.

To view the Auburn's 181-page NCAA Self-Study Report, visit:



Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Store


Shop for your favorite summer items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information