McCormack earns All-American Honors at NCAA Championship

Ty McCormack

Nov. 23, 2013

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. - - Auburn junior Ty McCormack earned All-America honors Saturday after finishing 40th in the men’s 10k run at the 2013 NCAA Cross Country Championships at the LaVern Gibson Championship Cross Country Course hosted by Indiana State University.

Competing in temperatures in the mid-20’s with 20-plus mile an hour winds, McCormack finished 40th among 253 runners in a time of 30:45.4 to earn his first ever All-America honors. The Gainesville, Ga., native was the second finisher among all Southeastern Conference competitors. McCormick also earned All-Region and All-SEC recognition this season after finishing third at the 2013 South Regional Championships on Nov. 15, and sixth at the 2013 Southeastern Conference Championships Nov. 1.

“Ty ran a fabulous race” Auburn cross country coach Mark Carroll said. “He stuck to the plan of establishing a rhythm and working up through the field throughout the race in very, very difficult conditions. It was very cold, windy and muddy. He came through the field during the later stages and continued to move up. To earn All-America honors in his first-ever NCAA meet is outstanding. I’m very proud of his efforts today and during the entire this season.”

McCormack is Auburn’s first male All-American in cross country since Felix Kiboiywo and Ben Cheruiyot in 2009.

Colorado’s men won the team title with 149 points, Northern Arizona (169 pts) was second followed by Oklahoma State (230 pts), BYU (267 pts) and Oregon (274 pts). Oregon’s Edward Cheserek (29:41.1) won the men’s individual title.  



Providence’s women won the team title with 141 points, Arizona (197 pts) was second followed by Butler (200 pts), Michigan (215 pts) and Georgetown (226 pts). Dartmouth’s Abbey D'Agostino (20:00.3) won the women’s individual title.

For the latest news and updates on Auburn Cross Country, follow @AUtrack on Twitter.

MEN’S TOP 10 TEAM RESULTS (10k) 1. Colorado 149; 2. Northern Arizona 169; 3. Oklahoma State 230; 4. BYU 267; 5. Oregon 274; 6. Iona 284; 7. Portland 293; 8. Indiana 306; 9. Wisconsin 326; 10. Syracuse 329.

MEN’S INDIVIDUAL TOP 10 1. Edward Cheserek, Oregon (29:41.1); 2. Kennedy Kithuka, Texas Tech (29:59.1); 3. Maksim Korolev, Harvard (29:59.5); 4. Futsum Zienasellassie, Northern Arizona (30.05.7); 5. Jim Rosa, Stanford (30:08.9); 6. Stanley Kebenei, Arkansas (30:10.1); 7. Andrew Colley, N.C. State (30:12.5); 8. Ben Saarel, Colorado (30:14.1); 9. Patrick Tiernan, Villanova (30:15.7); 10. Luke Caldwell, New Mexico (30:17.2).  

AU MEN’S INDIVIUAL RESULTS 40. Ty McCormack, (30:45.4).