Skip to main content Skip to footer
Auburn cross country men fourth, women 10th at NCAA South Regional
Ty McCormack

Nov. 15, 2013

Tuscaloosa, Ala.--The Auburn men's cross country team finished fourth, while the women were 10th at the 2013 South Regional Championships at the Harry Pritchett Running Park in Tuscaloosa Friday. Junior Ty McCormack earned an individual spot at the NCAA Championships on Nov. 23 in Terre Haute, Ind., after finishing third in the men's 10k race.

The men finished with 117 team points to claim fourth among the 26 teams in the field, while the women had 303 points to finish in the top third of the 27 teams that competed. Impressively, all 12 Auburn runner posted personal-bests times on the day.

McCormack who was among the lead pack for much of the race completed the 10k in 29:51.81, while teammate Kane Grimster was 11th. Grimster, who will await a possible at-large bid to the NCAA Championships, crossed the finish line in 30:23.08.

"We're happy with the results and certainly would have like to have made it (to NCAAs) on the men's side, but considering there were over 25 teams competing, it was a pretty good day," Auburn cross country coach Mark Carroll said.

Seniors Samuel Mueller (30:32.66) and Niklas Buhner (30:51.49) finished 15th and 30th respectively. Junior Francis Hernandez (31:33.00) was 58th, while senior Jason Miller (31:46.20) claimed 75th. On the women's side, the freshman duo of Veronica Eder and Rachel Givens, who led the Tigers in each meet this season, continued at the South Regional as Eder (20:51.34) was 24th and Givens (21:09.67) was 40th.



"Ty ran an aggressive race and stayed at the front pack and took care of business to punch his ticket to NCAAs and hopefully Kane will make it as well as an at-large. On the women's side, Veronica had a very good performance to earn All-Region honors."

Senior Erika Kolakowski was 76th in a time of 21:42.28 while sophomore Sage Blackwell (21:43.02) was 77th. Sophomore Kristin Sheehan (21:59:48) and freshman Emily Stevens (22:03.17) were 100th and 103rd, respectively.

McCormack, Grimster and Mueller earned All-Region honors for their performance, while Eder received the same award on the women's side.

Georgia (72 pts.) won the men's regional, while Florida (73 pts.) was second to earn automatic bids to the NCAA Championships. Florida State was third (101 pts.). Florida's Mark Parrish (29:44.24) and Jimmy Clark, UF (29:49.46) were 1-2 in the men's individual race.

Florida State (35 pts.) and Vanderbilt (116 pts.) led the women's team race to automatically qualify for next weekend's NCAAs. FSU's Colleen Quigley (19:58.55) won the women's individual title.

For the latest news and updates on Auburn Cross Country, follow @AUtrack on Twitter.

MEN'S TOP 10 TEAM RESULTS (10K) 1. Georgia 72; 2. Florida 73; 3. Florida State 101; 4. AUBURN 117; 5. Tennessee 181; 6. Lipscomb 199; 7. Mississippi State 242; 8. Belmont 253; 9. Ole Miss 255; 10. Georgia Tech 263.

MEN'S INDIVIDUAL TOP 10 1. Mark Parrish, UF (29:44.24); 2. Jimmy Clark, UF (29:49.46); 3. Ty McCormack, AU (29:51.81); 4. Lucas Baker, UGA (29:53.46); 5. Peter Okwera, UT (29:55.43); 6. Matt Miller, BEL (30:00.08); 7. Brandon Lord, UGA (30:08.61); 8. Bryant Blahnik, FSU (30:13.66); 9. Eddie Garcia, UF (30:15.78); 10. Charles Sparks, UGA (30:18.76).

AU MEN'S INDIVIDUAL RESULTS 3. Ty McCormack (29:51.81); 11. Kane Grimster (30:23.08); 15. Samuel Mueller (30:32.66); 30. Niklas Buhner (30:51.49); 58. Francis Hernandez (31:33.00); 75. Jason Miller (31:46.20).

WOMEN'S TOP 10 TEAM RESULTS (6K) 1. Florida State 35; 2. Vanderbilt 116; 3. Alabama 143; 4. Florida 153; 5. Ole Miss 169; 6. Georgia 175; 7. Mississippi State 198; 8. Lipscomb 223; 9. Tennessee 231; 10. Auburn 303.

WOMEN'S INDIVIDUAL TOP 10 1. Colleen Quigley, FSU (19:58.55); 2. Cory McGee, UF (20:00.19); 3. Teghan Henderson, CHAT (20:20.42); 4. Hannah Walker, FSU (20:03.22); 5. Elinor Kirk, UAB (20:07.64); 6. Linden Hall, FSU (20:08.83); 7. Pippa Woolven, FSU (20:15.48); 8. Liz Anderson, VU (20:16.07); 9. Agata Strausa, UF (20:17.97); 10. Chelsea Blaase (UT), 20:19.83.

AU WOMEN'S INDIVIDUAL RESULTS 24. Veronica Eder (20:51.34); 40. Rachel Givens (21:09.67); 76. Erika Kolakowski (21:42.28); 77. Sage Blackwell (21:43.02); 100. Kristin Sheehan (21:59:48); 103. Emily Stevens (22:03.17).

Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information