Two Auburn Seniors Named H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Finalists
Doug Van Wie

April 4, 2006

AUBURN, Ala. - Auburn seniors Angela Homan and Doug Van Wie are among 24 student-athletes, one male and one female from each Southeastern Conference institution, that have been chosen by their respective schools as recipients of an SEC Post-graduate scholarship, and are finalists for the 2005-2006 H. Boyd McWhorter SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award, Commissioner Mike Slive announced Tuesday.

Van Wie has been part of the last four national champion men's swimming and diving teams, while Homan is a six-time All-American in women's track and cross country.

Each finalist will receive a $5,000 scholarship for post-graduate studies. The SEC Faculty Athletics Representatives Boyd McWhorter Selection Committee will choose the outstanding male and female student-athlete and each will receive a $10,000 post-graduate scholarship. The winners of the McWhorter Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be announced Thursday.

Van Wie, a native of Charlotte, N.C., boasts a cumulative 3.505 grade-point average in graphic design. A 17-time All-American, Van Wie served as co-captain this season and helped lead his Tiger team to a remarkable fourth straight NCAA title. During his four years on the Plains, Van Wie has earned five individual SEC titles and an NCAA title to go along with four team conference and national titles. Van Wie is the Auburn record holder in the 100-yard backstroke and was a 2005 World University Games bronze medalist with the United States 800 freestyle relay team. He is a CSCAA Academic All-American and has been on the SEC Academic Honor Roll for three straight years.

Angela Homan

Homan, a native of Delphos, Ohio, owns a 3.887 GPA in exercise science. She is a three-time SEC Cross Country Champion and SEC Female Cross Country Athlete of the Year. She earned All-American honors in cross country in 2003, 2004 and 2005, and was an outdoor track All-American in the 10,000m in both 2004 and 2005. Homan earned her sixth All-American award at the 2006 Indoor Track and Field Championships in the 5,000m, and currently owns school records in the outdoor 5,000m and 10,000m. She was a 2005 Academic All-American and is a three-time selection on the SEC Academic Honor Roll.

"The Southeastern Conference is proud to recognize these 24 student-athletes for their accomplishments in their academics and athletics endeavors," said SEC Commissioner Mike Slive. "These student-athletes have shown everyone what it takes to be a winner in every aspect of life. These student-athletes are excellent representatives of their universities and communities."

The SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards were first presented in 1986. The award was renamed the H. Boyd McWhorter SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year in May 1990 to honor the former commissioner who served the conference from 1972-86.

The award will be presented to the two winners on June 1 at the SEC Spring Meetings in Destin, Fla.