Skip to main content Skip to footer


Day One Release and Results
Day Two Release and Results
Day Three Release and Results
All the Final Results

INDIANAPOLIS, IND----The Auburn men's swim team won its second NCAA title in three years as Auburn scored 467.5 points and Head Coach David Marsh was named Coach of the Year. AU won a total of seven events including four of the five relays and three individual events. AU finished the meet just like they started it, by setting an NCAA, NCAA meet and U.S. Open record, only this time in the 400 free relay. Brock Newman, Brett Hawke, Aaron Ciarla and Romain Barnier swam a record time of 2:50.90.

"I was like a cat on a hot stove Saturday night," said Marsh. "The relays played a crucial role. The fun thing about it was that there were different heroes on each different relay."

Dave Denniston won his first ever individual NCAA title as he won the 200 breaststroke with a time of 1:55.51. Denniston broke the school record formerly held by Adam Jerger (1:57.90) during prelims when he swam 1:56.50 then broke his own record in the finals.

"This is a dream come true. That's why I came to Auburn, why a lot of guys did. Being this close and being able to taste it is a lot of fun," said Denniston.

Heading into the final night of competition Auburn held a 44-point lead over Stanford. The Tigers received help from freshman Kevin Clements when he finished 12th and set a school record in the 1,650 with a time of 15:06.92. The break for the Tigers came when Stanford did not score any points in the 1,650.

The swim team will meet at Toomer's Corner at 6 p.m. on Sunday evening to celebrate with Auburn fans. The public is invited to attend.

The championships will be televised on a tape-delay basis on ESPN, Apr. 3 at 11:30 p.m. (CT).

Day Three Prelims

200 back
9. Michael Bartz, 1:43.96
10. Romain Barnier, 1:44.13
17. Kirk Hampleman, 1:45.48
24. John Karr, 1:46.41

100 free
2. Brock Newman, 42.85
9. Brett Hawke, 43.51
19. Oswaldo Quevedo, 44.08
20. Aaron Ciarla, 44.20
22. Matt Busbee, 44.32
45. Nate Boyle, 45.01

200 breast
1. Dave Denniston, 1:56.50
10. Lionel Moreau, 1:59.52

200 fly
8. Jeff Somensatto, 1:45.69
25. Carter Hull, 1:48.10

400 free relay
1. Busse, Newman, Ciarla, Barnier, 2:53.65

Day Three Finals

1,650 free
12. Kevin Clements, 15:06.92
17. John Pearce, 15:20.34

200 back
9. Michael Bartz, 1:43.96
10. Romain Barnier, 1:44.13

100 free
3. Brock Newman, 42.92
9. Brett Hawke, 43.18

200 breast
1. Dave Denniston, 1:55. 51
9. Lionel Moreau, 1:58.83

200 fly
8. Jeff Somensatto, 1:46.12

400 free relay
1. Newman, Hawke, Ciarla, Barnier,2:50.90**

** NCAA, NCAA meet, U.S. Open,school record

INDIANAPOLIS--Auburn University won its second national title in three years here tonight at the men's NCAA Division I Swimming and Diving Championships at the IU Natatorium.

Powered by wins in four relays, Auburn outscored the defending champion, Stanford Cardinal, 467.5 to 414.5. For the third time in the 1990s, Auburn head coach David Marsh was named the Coach of the Year. Marsh was previously honored as the men's coach of the year in 1994 and 1997.

"I'm completely thrilled," Marsh said. "We had an extraordinary commitment and leadership by our seniors at this meet. Everyone on the team had a lifetime best this week."

Auburn, who won the men's crown in 1997, placed an exclamation point on the meet by winning the final event, the 400-yard freestyle relay, in NCAA and U.S. Open record time. The team of Brock Newman, Brett Hawke, Aaron Ciarla and Romain Barnier swam a 2:50.90 to break the 1994 record of 2:51.07 by Texas.

"This is such an unbelievable feeling," said Newman, a senior. "Everyone of our guys were so motivated and focused this was our goal all year. When I came to Auburn, I thought we'd have a shot at winning the national title before I was done, but never in a million years would I have believed that we would win two national titles and finish second the other two years."

Arizona's Ryk Neethling was named Swimmer of the Year after winning three events. Tonight with his win in the 1650y freestyle, he became the eighth man in the 76-year history of the NCAA Championships to win three individual titles in two years. Neethling won the distance event in 14:35.57, the fourth-fastest performance ever. Michigan's Chris Thompson was second with a 14:38.96. Neethling, a South African Olympian, won the 200y and 500y freestyle earlier in the week. He won the same three events in 1998.

Stanford's Tate Blahnik successfully defended his 200y backstroke title with the tenth-fastest time in history, a 1:41.42. Blahnik now owns three of the top 10 performances ever. Bart Kizierowski, a Polish Olympian, swimming for California, took the 100y freestyle in 42.70. Kizierowski swam a 42.60 in prelims, which placed him seventh in the all-time performers' list. Shamek Pietucha became the first NCAA champion ever from Virginia, winning the 200y butterfly over Michigan's Tom Malchow 1:43.50 to 1:43.58. Pietucha, a Canadian national champion, is now the fifth-fastest man ever; Malchow, the 1996 Olympic silver medalist, moved to sixth on the list.

Rio Ramirez of Miami won the platform diving event with a 901.60, the highest total in meet history. Ramirez was named Diver of the Year and his coach, Randy Ableman, was awarded the diving Coach of the Year honor.

Texas was third with 356.5 points followed by California (300.5), Arizona (296), Southern Cal (286.5), Tennessee (171), Michigan (169), Georgia (149.5) and Texas A&M (148).

Last Modified March 27, 1999
Auburn Media Relations

Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information