Skip to main content Skip to footer
Auburn Invitational: Day Two Prelims

Nov. 23, 2013

Prelim Results Get Acrobat Reader

AUBURN, Ala. – Auburn swimmers posted six NCAA ‘B’ cut times and 40 Tigers advanced to finals in their respective events on Saturday morning during prelims on day two of the Auburn Invitational.

Senior Emily Bos continued her strong performance in the pool this weekend posting a the top time and a personal record in the 100 fly, swimming 53.83. Teammate Olivia Scott shined as well, earning a ‘B’ cut time at 53.89 in the same heat to finish second. The duo will be joined by Megan Fonteno in Saturday night’s final, barely missing a ‘B’ cut time by just .08 seconds, but finishing sixth at 54.57 during the prelims. Four Tigers will compete in the 100 fly’s consolation finals on Saturday night.

Three Auburn swimmers will also represent the women in the 100 back finals. The Tigers were once again led by Bos, who posted her top time of the year at 53.04 unsuited to record her second ‘B’ cut time in the session to place second. Sophomore Jillian Vitarius posted her top time of the season, finishing third in the prelims at 53.62. Senior Aubrey Peacock finished fifth during Saturday’s prelims posting a season-best mark at 54.59 giving Auburn’s third ‘B’ cut in the event.

The Tigers just missed having half of the field in Saturday night’s final for the 100 back as sophomore Sarah Reynold’s tied for eighth with Alabama’s Stephanie Kinsey forcing a swim-off to finish Saturday’s prelims. The sophomore lost a tight race by just .01, but swam an impressive time of 55.04 and will compete in tonight’s consolation finals.

For the men, freshman Michael Duderstadt posted his first ‘B’ cut time of the season, finishing eighth in the men’s 100 breast. Forrest Davis (55.67) and Peter Haas (57.03) will compete in the consolation finals, while Jordan Jones (57.54) and Spencer Kerns earned spots in the C-final. On the women’s side, Annie Lazor (1:04.89) and Kristen Murslack (1:06.45) will swim in the women’s 100 breast consolation finals.

Auburn earned three spots in the evening session’s men’s 100 back final. Freshman Joe Patching continued his impressive racing, tying for fourth with Georgia’s Doug Reynolds at 48.55. Patching looks to improve on that mark in Saturday’s championship final as teammates Taylor Copeland (6th – 48.75) and Youssef Hammoud (8th - 48.80) will compete against him.

James Disney-May (9th – 49.06), Kyle Darmody (11th – 49.13) and Alex Goerzan (50.06) earned spots in the 100 back consolation finals. Darmody cut over two seconds off his previous best time in the event.

Steyn Funk turned in an impressive swim of 1:38.91 in the 200 men’s free on Saturday to finish seventh and pick up a spot in the championship finals. Sam Parker (1:39.02), Zane Grothe (1:39.22) and Alex Hancoack (1:40.33) qualified for the consolation finals. For the women, Haley Krakoski finished tenth at 1:50.55, while MaryElizabeth Warhol swam 1:52.08 to place 15th as the pair earned spots in the consolation finals.

Arthur Mendes’ 48.51 in the 100 fly placed the sophomore in the eighth after Saturday’s prelims to earn a spot in the finals. Marcelo Chierighini posted his first sub-50 time of the year at 48.63 and will compete alongside Will Anderson (49.01) in the consolation finals. Kevin Behrens (50.08) and Alex Press (50.37) earned spots in the C-finals.

In the men’s 400 IM, the sophomore pair of Cameron Rattray (7th – 3:57.17) and Jordan Jones (8th - 3:57.28) will also compete in tonight’s championship final for Auburn. Rattray cut nearly 10 seconds of his previous best time in the morning’s first event.

Sarah Peterson (4:24.05), Ashley Neidigh (4:28.95) and Kristen Murslack (4:30.46) qualified for the consolation final in the women’s 400 IM.

In the diving prelims, all three competitors advanced to Saturday night’s finals. Junior Cinzia Calabretta led the Tigers with a fifth place finish, posting her highest score of the year at 300.85. Shanna Schuelein finished just 1.9 points behind Calabretta in sixth, recording a score of 298.95. Carly Scheper finished eighth for Auburn with a score of 283.20 in her first 3-meter competition of the year.

John Santeiu won the men’s prelims in the 1-meter dive posting a score of 375.65, over 12 points clear of his next opponent. Justin Youtzey turned in an outstanding performance to place third (361.3). Fraser McKean posted a score of 347.30 to finish fourth. All three divers advance to Saturday’s finals.

Finals get underway at 5 p.m. at the James E. Martin Aquatics Center. Fans can follow along with live results on

For the latest updates on Auburn Swimming and Diving, follow the Tigers on Twitter, @AuburnSwimming or like Auburn Swimming and Diving on Facebook.




Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information