Skip to main content Skip to footer
Auburn Invitational: Day One Prelims

Nov. 22, 2013

AUBURN, Ala. – Four Auburn swimmers posted NCAA ‘B’ cut times and 38 Tiger swimmers and divers advanced to Friday’s finals to open the Auburn Invitational at the James E. Martin Aquatics Center.

Senior Marcelo Chierighini provided the biggest highlight for the Tigers in the morning session taking second the 50 free prelims with a season-best time of 19.75, just .45 seconds shy of a NCAA ‘A’ cut time. Cherighini’s time ranks as third-best time in the event this season. Fellow senior James Disney-May finished in fourth in the morning session, posting a NCAA ‘B’ cut time of 19.99 in his first appearance in the 50 free.

On the women’s side, senior Emily Bos turned on the jets to win her heat and advance to Friday’s finals in the 50 free with a ‘B’ cut time of 22.57. Bos finished fourth in the prelim, while freshman Allyx Purcell tied for eighth with Georgia’s Lauren Harrington with a time of 23.02. Purcell will compete in tonight’s consolation final after narrowly losing a swim-off to Harrington by just three-tenths of second, but the freshman posted her season-best time of 22.75. The pair will be joined by Megan Fonteno (10th – 23.18), Aubrey Peacock (11th – 23.31) and Haley Krakoski (12th – 23.34) in tonight’s consolation finals.

In the 500 men’s free prelims, senior Zane Grothe knocked off over seven seconds of his season-best time in the event to nearly post a ‘B’ cut time. Grothe finished seventh in the morning prelims to advance to the finals with a time of 4:25.48, just .49 seconds off a NCAA ‘B’ cut time. Steyn Funk and Sam Parker knocked off over 20 seconds from their top times of the year to advance to the consolation finals. Funk finished at 4:29.01, while Parker posted a time of 4:31.57.

Joe Patching continued to improve his marks in the 200 IM, finishing sixth at 1:49.71 just .62 seconds off a ‘B’ cut time, while Alex Hancock improved on his season-best time dropping it down to 1:50.64 to finish eighth. The freshman duo will compete in tonight’s championship final while Michael Duderstadt and Cameron Rattray advanced to Friday night’s consolation final. Six men earned spots in the C-finals for the Tigers.

For the Auburn women, Sarah Peterson finished 14th with a season-best time of 2:05.05 to advance to the B-finals along with Kristen Murslack, who recorded a time of 2:05.46 to place 16th in the 200 IM. Olivia Scott, Annie Lazor and Sarah Reynolds will compete in the C-finals for the Tigers.

MaryElizabeth Warhol cut six seconds off her season-best time in the 500 free to finish 12th with a time of 4:57.02. She will be joined by Ashley Neidigh (13th – 4:58.40) and Siena DeVenuto (15th – 4:59.22) in tonight’s consolation finals. Valerie Inghels will compete in the 500 free C-finals.

In the diving prelims, Fraser McKean led the way for Auburn taking the top spot in prelims with a score of 388.15. John Santeiu finished third in the prelim round with a season-best mark of 375.65. In the women’s 1-meter,  Cinzia Calabretta finished sixth in the prelims with a season-best score 276.80, while Carly Scheper scored 275.70 in her first competition to finish seventh in the prelims. Shanna Schuelein advanced to the finals by placing eighth with a score of 2:57.70.

Friday’s finals are set to begin at 5 p.m. You can watch live online at Auburn All-Access or follow the live results on

For the latest updates on Auburn Swimming and Diving, follow the Tigers on Twitter, @AuburnSwimming or like Auburn Swimming and Diving on Facebook.



Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information