Fourteen Tigers Compete in Day One Finals at the USA Swimming National Championships
Hayley Peirsol

Aug. 1, 2006

Irvine, Calif. - Fourteen current, former and future Auburn swimmers competed in finals at the 2006 ConocoPhillips National Championship in Irvine Calif., Tuesday evening at the William Woollett Jr. Aquatic Center.

Hayley Peirsol, a Newport Beach, Calif. Native, turned in the highest finish of the group, as the rising-senior was third in the 400m freestyle with a time of 4:06.31. This time shattered her personal best mark which she earned in the morning prelim and also broke her own Auburn record, it was nearly a five second improvement from the morning prelim time of 4:11.24. Classmate Adrienne Binder of Santa Barbara, Calif., finished eighth (4:15.60). In the prelim session, Binder broke her personal record with a time of 4:10.89.

After turning in the second best 100m breast swim in the morning (1:00.95), former Auburn national champion Mark Gangloff (Stow, Ohio), ended up fourth in the championship final, touching the pads in 1:01.32.

Two Auburn competitors competed in the championship final of the 400m IM as senior Eric Shanteau (Lilburn, Ga.) grabbed fifth (4:14.33) and rising-junior Andrew Callahan (Alpharetta, Ga.) took eighth (4:23.34). Shanteau's finals time broke his own Auburn record by just under a second. Callahan also turned in a personal best swim in the prelim with a time of 4:22.73. It was the fifth fastest time ever at Auburn.

Tiger Olympian and national champion Margaret Hoelzer (Huntsville, Ala.) took fifth in the 100m fly in a time of 59.70. She swam 59.59 in the prelim and entered the championship final as the fourth seed.

Also competing in an A final was rising-junior Emily Kukors in the 200m IM. Kukors (Auburn, Wash.) ended up seventh with a time of 2:15.23, a new personal best time and the third fastest at Auburn. The Tigers were well represented in the B and C final's of the 200m IM as incoming freshman Ava Ohlgren took third in the B final (2:16.57) and senior Lauren Duerk was sixth (2:17.84). In the C final, rising-junior Kara Denby ended up fifth (2:19.12) and classmate Julie Stupp was seventh (2:19.52).

In the 100m breast B final, rising-sophomore Jon Roberts took fourth with a time of 1:03.28. In the prelim, Roberts swam a 1:03.27, a new personal best time. In the C final 100m breast, rising-senior Sean Osborne came in seventh (1:04.21). He also swam a personal best in the prelim, 1:03.52.

Rising-senior Daniel Slocki took fifth in the B final of the 400m free with a time of 3:56.58.

The following athletes competed in the prelim session Tuesday morning: Will Dove (400m free), Chelsea Haser (400m free), Kristen Hastrup (100m fly), Alicia Jensen (200m IM), David Maras (100m breast), Margo McCawley (100m fly), Kara Nelson (100m fly), Michael Silva (100m breast) and Jeff Smith (400m free).

For more information on the ConocoPhillips USA Swimming National Championships visit Omega timing will provide live results via