Tigers Lead SEC in CSCAA Scholar All-Americans

July 22, 2013

AUBURN, Ala. - With 20 student-athletes selected as Scholar All-Americans by the College Swimming Coaches Association of America, the Auburn swimming & diving team had the most selections of any program in the Southeastern Conference.

In addition, both the Auburn men's and women's teams were chosen as Scholar All-America Teams.

To qualify for Scholar All-America recognition, a student-athlete must have a GPA of 3.5 or higher and have qualified and competed at that year's NCAA Championships. Athletes that had a 3.5 or better GPA and an NCAA provisional qualifying time or zone diving score but did not qualify for the NCAA Championships are named to the Honorable Mention squad.

Seven Auburn women were named to the Scholar All-America First Team: Becca Jones, Haley Krakoski, Micah Lawrence, Lauren Norberg, Lindsey Norberg, Aubrey Peacock and Hannah Riordan. Six more women earned Honorable Mention nods: Cinzia Calabretta, Caitlyn Forman, Laura Johnson, Sarah Reynolds, Carly Scheper and Shanna Schuelein.

On the men's side, four Tigers were named to the First Team: James Disney-May, Stuart Ferguson, TJ Leon, and Kyle Owens. Three more Tigers - Antton Haramboure, Spencer Kerns and Justin Youtsey - were named Honorable Mention.

As a team, the Auburn women were named to the CSCAA Team Scholar All-America list with a 3.23 GPA. The men's team also earned national honors with a 3.02 overall GPA.

Founded in 1922, the College Swimming Coaches Association of America is the oldest professional organization of college coaches in America. The CSCAA is dedicated to serving and providing leadership for the advancement of the sport of swimming and diving at the collegiate level.



Tigers Unlimited
  • Auctions