Thirty-two Auburn Swimmers Set to Compete at Charlotte UltraSwim, June 7-10


June 6, 2007

Auburn, Ala. - Thirty-two former and current Auburn swimmers are set to compete this week at the Charlotte UltraSwim, June 7-10, at the Mecklenburg County Aquatic Center in Charlotte, N.C.

Preliminary sessions begin each day at 9 a.m. EST, with finals contested at 6 p.m. EST. On Thursday, timed finals in the distance events will begin at 4 p.m. EST.

Former Auburn swimmers highlighting the field are Olympians Jana Kolukanova, George Bovell, Mark Gangloff and Jeremy Knowles. Also in the field are 26 Tigers that competed on the 2007 NCAA Championship teams.

The Charlotte UltraSwim is the fourth stop on the 2007 Toyota Grand Prix Series. The seven-event Toyota Grand Prix Series is intended to provide U.S. National Team members and other elite swimmers with the opportunity to compete at a high level as they prepare for the championship period of the season.

Six Tigers enter the four-day event as a top seed. Former AU national champion and 2004 Olympic gold medalist Mark Gangloff (Akron, Ohio) highlights the field and has the best time in the 100m breast (1:00.63). He also has the No. 3 seed in the 200m breast.

Eric Shanteau (Lilburn, Ga.) holds the top seed in the 400m IM (4:15.08) while Jeremy Knowles (Bahamas) takes the top spot in the 200m fly (1:59.20).

A trio of Auburn swimmers from this year's national championship team also captured No. 1 seeds. James Wike (Sterling, Ill.) will be the top seed in the 100m back (55.11) while also earning No. 2 seeds in the 200m IM and 200m back.

Cesar Cielo (Brazil) takes the top spot in the 100m free (48.51) and the No. 2 seed in the 50m free with Chelsea Haser (Sykesville, Md.) starting out on top in the 1500m Free (16:52.00).

Other Tigers earning top-three seeds are Alexei Puninski (No. 3 seed, 100m fly), Doug Van Wie (No. 3 seed, 100m back), Rachel Goh (No. 3 seed, 100m back), Kristen Hastrup (No. 2 seed, 400m free; No. 3 seed, 200m fly), Kolukanova (No. 3 seed, 50m free), Emily Kukors (No. 3 seed, 200m IM) and Ava Ohlgren (No. 3 seed, 400m free).

Other members of the 2007 NCAA Championship teams competing this week are: Maggie Bird, Blakeley Bunch, Kara Denby, Alana Dillette, Emile Ewing, Abby MacGregor, Margo McCawley, Jakob Andkjaer, Andrew Callahan, Bryan Lundquist, Logan Madson, David Maras, Tyler McGill, Steve Scheren, Michael Silva, Jeff Smith, Matt Targett, and Luke Weniger.

Full meet information for the Charlotte UltraSwim can be found at On the Web site, there is also a link for Meet Results.