Ava Ohlgren Sets Another Auburn Record At Santa Clara International Invitational
Ava Ohlgren

May 18, 2008

SANTA CLARA, Calif. - Ava Ohlgren earned her second Auburn record in a week on Sunday at the Santa Clara International Invitational, wrapping up the four-day event with a third-place finish in the 200m butterfly.

The Santa Clara International Invitational is part of the USA Swimming Toyota Grand Prix Series. The four-day meet took place at the George Haines International Swim Center in Santa Clara, Calif. In all, 13 current, future and former Auburn swimmers competed in the event.

The rising junior started off the final session by taking third in the 200m butterfly with an Auburn-record time of 2:09.00 - breaking the old record held by Kristen Hastrup by nearly three seconds.

Former Tiger and Olympian Margaret Hoelzer followed in eighth place with a time of 2:12.09 while Emily Kukors won the B Final to finish 10th with a time of 2:10.19. Julianne McLane also competed in the 200m fly, finishing 33rd with a 2:17.97.

McLane picked up a top-finish of her own in the 200m backstroke, clocking a 2:15.02 to finish fourth in the event.

After setting the record, Ohlgren returned to the pool later in the night to finish second in the 200m Individual Medley with a personal-best time of 2:14.29, a mark that ranks fourth all-time at Auburn. Kukors also made the A Final, coming in ninth with a time of 2:18.16.

Alexei Puninski posted the top finish among the Auburn men, taking fourth in the 100m freestyle with a 49.82. Gideon Louw, who will join the Auburn swimming team in the fall, followed in ninth with a time of 50.23.

Former Tiger Bryan Lundquist won the C Final, placing 19th overall with a time of 50.64. Also competing in the event were Kohlton Norys (41st, 52.05), Tyler McGill (43rd, 52.13), Will Dove (54th, 52.50), James Wike (73rd, 53.06) and Robert Looney (101st, 54.70).



Looney returned to the pool in the final individual event of the meet, placing seventh in the 1500, freestyle with a time of 15:55.50. Will Dove followed in 12th, touching in at 16:00.64.

Also posting a seventh-place finish was James Wike in the 100m backstroke, clocking a 55.98. Norys followed by winning the C Final, placing 19th overall with a 56.63. Andrew Mitchell also swam in the 100m back, placing 42nd with a 1:00.32.

Adam Klein also earned a win during the session as he took the top spot in the 200m breaststroke C Final, finishing 19th overall, with a time of 2:21.07. Marshel Renz trailed with a time of 2:36.55, placing 42nd.

In the men's 200m IM, rising-sophomore Mitchell was the only Tiger to make the finals, placing 22nd with a time of 2:08.23 Also swimming in the event were McGill (31st, 2:10.52), Renz (37th, 2:11.21) and Looney (42nd, 2:12.16).