Skip to main content Skip to footer
Auburn Swimming & Diving Notebook - March 4
Laura Johnson

March 4, 2013

Twitter Logo@AuburnSwimming on Twitter | Facebook LogoAuburn Swimming & Diving on Facebook

Several Big Swims at Bulldog Invitational
Three Auburn swimmers posted career-best and all-time Auburn top-10 marks in their respective events at last weekend's Bulldog Invitational "Last Chance" meet in Athens, Ga., and several others clocked season- and personal-bests.

Junior Peter Haas clocked the eighth-fastest time in Auburn history in the 200-yard breaststroke, dropping eight-tenths of a second off his previous personal-best at last month's SEC Championships. Haas posted a 1:56.81 in prelims, then followed that up with a 1:56.68 in finals for Auburn's best time in the event this year. With the Pac-12 Championships the only remaining major conference championship meet before NCAA invites are announced, Haas' time ranks as the 31st-fastest in the nation.

Freshman Valerie Inghels also had a breakout meet, posting a personal-best time of 1:57.95 in the women's 200 butterfly. That ranked as the eighth-fastest swim in school history in the event and the second-fastest time by an Auburn swimmer this year. Inghels also recorded an NCAA `B' cut time in the 100 fly with a 53.88.

Senior Laura Johnson posted a career-best time of 1:01.06 in the women's 100 breaststroke, which ranks as the 10th-fastest time in Auburn history. Along with the Tigers' strong performances at the SEC Championships, Auburn women have clocked the 2nd, 4th, 5th, and 10th-fastest times in the 100 breast in school history in the last two weeks.

Others that improved on season-best times and posted NCAA provisional marks at the Bulldog Invite:
--TJ Leon, men's 50 free (19.74)
--Sam Parker, men's 200 free (1:37.71)
--Spencer Kerns, men's 400 IM (3:52.08)
--Tryshia Centeno, women's 100 breast (1:01.75)

SEC Championships to Air on ESPNU
ESPNU will air two, 90-minute shows recapping the last two nights of the 2013 SEC Swimming & Diving Championships on Monday. The show recapping the women's meet begins at 3 p.m., and the men's show will begin at 4:30 p.m.

SEC Awards Announced
The SEC announced its annual swimming & diving awards last week, including individual superlatives and All-SEC teams. Marcelo Chierighini was named the SEC Men's Swimmer of the Year, which was previously announced on the final night of the SEC Championships. In addition, several Auburn swimmers and divers were named to the All-SEC first, second, or freshman teams.

Any swimmer or diver that wins an individual or relay event at the SEC Championships is named to the All-SEC First Team, and any athlete that earns a runner-up finish is named to the Second Team. Any freshman that qualifies for a championship final in an event is named to the All-Freshman Team.

Auburn had eight men named to the First Team, more than any other school. Between the men's and women's teams, Auburn had 12 total individuals earn All-SEC honors.

All-SEC First Team (Men)
Kyle Owens
Stuart Ferguson
Marcelo Chierighini
James Disney-May
TJ Leon
Arthur Mendes
Zane Grothe
John Santeiu

All-SEC Second Team (Women)
Olivia Scott

All-SEC Freshman Team (Men)
Arthur Mendes
Andrew Laing
Jordan Jones

All-SEC Freshman Team (Women)
Jillian Vitarius

Looking Ahead
Wednesday, March 6: NCAA Women's Championships selections announced
Monday-Wednesday, March 11-13: NCAA Zone B Diving (Knoxville, Tenn.)
Wednesday, March 13: NCAA Men's Championships selections announced
Thursday-Saturday, March 21-23: NCAA Women's Championships (Indianapolis)
Thursday-Saturday, March 28-30: NCAA Men's Championships (Indianapolis)



Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information