Skip to main content Skip to footer
Hawke, Owens Highlight SEC Swimming & Diving Honors
Kyle Owens was named the SEC Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Feb. 24, 2012

Twitter Logo@AuburnSwimming on Twitter | Facebook LogoAuburn Swimming & Diving on Facebook

AUBURN, Ala. - Auburn head coach Brett Hawke was named SEC Men's Coach of the Year, and junior Kyle Owens was named the league's Co-Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year as the Southeastern Conference announced its annual swimming and diving awards Friday.

Hawke, in his third full season as the Tigers' head coach and sixth season overall on the Auburn coaching staff, earned his first selection as the SEC Men's Coach of the Year. The Tigers won their 16th consecutive SEC men's swimming & diving title last week, giving Auburn men's swimming the third-longest streak of SEC titles in any sport. Only Florida's volleyball program (18 straight titles from 1991-2008) and Arkansas' men's cross country team (17 championships, 1991-2007) have had longer streaks of team championships in the history of the Southeastern Conference.

Owens, a junior from Johnson City, Tenn., capped off one of the strongest SEC meets ever by an Auburn swimmer by being named the league's Co-Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year for swimming and diving, sharing the honor with Tennessee diver Ryan Helms. Owens totaled six gold medals and one silver during the league meet, winning the 100 and 200 backstroke events while also swimming on four winning relay teams. He also took runner-up honors in the 200 individual medley.

A two-time CSCAA Scholar All-American, Owens has recorded a 4.0 GPA in four out of five semesters so far in his Auburn career. A biomedical sciences major, he has conducted microbiological research granted by the FAA under the supervision of Dr. James Barbaree.

In all, 16 Auburn student-athletes were named to the All-SEC First Team, while four others earned All-SEC Second Team honors. Three Tiger freshmen were named to the All-SEC Freshman Team as well.

Several Tiger swimmers will look to post or better NCAA qualifying marks in this weekend's Bulldog Invitational Last Chance Meet, which runs Saturday and Sunday in Athens, Ga. Auburn's divers are back in action as they play host to the NCAA Zone B Diving meet March 5-7, and Auburn will also host the 2012 NCAA Women's Championships March 15-17 at the James E. Martin Aquatics Center. The NCAA Men's Championships will take place March 22-24 in Federal Way, Wash.

2012 SEC Swimming & Diving Awards

Men's Swimming Coach of the Year
Brett Hawke

Co-Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Kyle Owens

Men's All-SEC First Team
Allen Browning
Marcelo Chierighini
James Disney-May
Stuart Ferguson
Zane Grothe
Karl Krug
TJ Leon
Chris Manning
Drew Modrov
Kyle Owens

Women's All-SEC First Team
Emily Bos
Vennie Dantin
Megan Fonteno
Haley Krakoski
Hannah Riordan
Arianna Vanderpool-Wallace

Men's All-SEC Second Team
Max Murphy
John Santeiu

Women's All-SEC Second Team
Lauren Norberg
Olivia Scott

Men's SEC All-Freshman Team
Fraser McKean

Women's SEC All-Freshman Team
Abby Duncan
Sarah Peterson



Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information