SEC Championships: Day 3 Prelims

Feb. 20, 2014

ATHENS, Ga. – Auburn picked up 18 return swims for Thursday night’s finals at the 2014 SEC Swimming and Diving Championship at Gabrielsen Natatorium in Athens, Ga.

Senior Marcelo Chierighini, sophomore Arthur Mendes and freshman Cameron Jones all set personal records in the morning’s 100 fly prelims to earn berths in the championship final, the most of any team in the event. Senior TJ Leon picked up a spot in the consolation final by clocking a 47.32, and junior Kevin Behrens will swim in the C-final posting a time of 47.94 for a personal best.

In the men’s 200 freestyle prelims, Zane Grothe returns to the championship final after a morning time of 1:35.43. Grothe makes his third appearance in the championship final of his career and looks to best his fifth-place finish from 2013. Alexander Hancock and Tommy McKee set PRs with swims of 1:35.83 and 1:36.17, respectively, to qualify for the B-final. Allen Browing will compete for the Tigers in the C-final after touching the wall in 1:37.01.

Sophomore Jordan Jones finished 10th overall with a season-best swim of 3:47.24 earning a spot in the consolation final as the lone Auburn swimmer in the event.

For the Auburn women, four Tigers will compete in the consolation final of the 100 fly following Thursday’s prelims. Junior Megan Fonteno swam her best time in an Auburn suit in the 100 fly with a time of 55.32. She will be joined by Alex Merritt (53.38), Aubrey Peacock (53.58) and Sarah Reynolds (53.60). Valerie Inghels put in a solid swim of 53.80 just missing the B-final, but will swim with teammate Maddie Martin (53.88) in the C-final.

Junior Sarah Peterson picked up a return swim in the 400 IM with her top time of the year at 4:13.76. Freshman Ashley Neidigh picked up a spot in the consolation final as her personal-best time of 4:16.68 to return for the night session.

Diving Update: Auburn junior Shanna Schuelein will represnt the Tigers in Thursday night's women's 3-meter final. Schuelein posted a personal-best score of 326.55 to finish as the sixth-seed heading into 8-diver final. Carly Scheper also added career-best score of 313.60 to take 11th, while junior Cinzia Calabretta took 12th place for the second straight year at the SEC Championships scoring 311.45. Morgan Mullins was 21st overall at 284.70 points.

Finals begin tonight at 6 p.m. ET at the Gabrielsen Natatorium on the campus of the University of Georgia. 

For the latest updates on Auburn Swimming and Diving, follow the Tigers on Twitter, @AuburnSwimming or like Auburn Swimming and Diving on Facebook.

Auburn Swimming & Diving
2014 SEC Championships – Day Three Prelims
February 20, 2014
Gabrielsen Natatorium – Athens, Ga.

Men’s 400 IM
10. Jordan Jones (3:47.24)(B-Final)

Women’s 400 IM
10. Sarah Peterson (4:13.76)(B-Final)
16. Ashley Neidigh (4:16.68)(B-Final)(PR) 

Men’s 100 Fly
3. Arthur Mendes (46.33)(A-Final)(PR)
6. Marcelo Chierighini (46.56)(A-Final)(PR)
8. Cam Jones (46.83)(A-Final)(PR)
15. TJ Leon (47.32)(B-Final)(PR)
23. Kevin Behrens (47.94)(C-Final)(PR)
30. Alex Press (48.27)(PR)

Women’s 100 Fly
10. Megan Fonteno (53.32)(B-Final)(PR)
11. Alex Merritt (53.38)(B-Final)
15. Aubrey Peacock (53.58)(B-Final)(PR)
16. Sarah Reynolds (53.60)(B-Final)(PR)
19. Valerie Inghels (53.80)(C-Final)(PR)
23. Madison Martin (53.88)(C-Final)(PR)

Men’s 200 Free
8. Zane Grothe (1:35.43)(A-Final)
13. Alexander Hancock (1:35.83)(B-Final)(PR)
16. Tommy McKee (1:36.17)(B-Final)(PR)
22. Allen Browning (1:37.01)(C-Final)(PR)

Women’s 200 Free
15. Jillian Vitarius (1:47.38)(B-Final)(PR)
23. Haley Krakoski (1:48.35)(C-Final)