SEC Championships: Day 3 Prelims
James Disney-May

Feb. 21, 2013

Photo Gallery 

Twitter Logo@AuburnSwimming on Twitter | Facebook LogoAuburn Swimming & Diving on Facebook

COLLEGE STATION, Texas - Auburn put together a strong morning Thursday at the 2013 SEC Swimming & Diving Championships, earning a total of 17 return swims in tonight's finals session.

Juniors Zane Grothe and James Disney-May led the way for the Auburn men as both qualified for the championship final in the 200-yard freestyle. Grothe was the No. 2 qualifier with a 1:34.41, and Disney-May will be seeded sixth after a time of 1:35.79. Sophomores Alex Hancock and Tommy McKee earned their way into the consolation final with Hancock clocking a 1:35.56 and McKee posting a 1:36.93. Sophomore Allen Browning just missed a return swim with a 27th-place time of 1:37.84.

Two freshmen also came through in a big way for the Tigers in the other two men's events. Arthur Mendes finished in a three-way tie for sixth place in the prelims of the 100 butterfly, advancing to the championship final with a time of 46.96. Marcelo Chierighini clocked a personal-best 47.04 and qualified 10th overall to earn a spot in the B-final, and sophomore Kevin Behrens made his way into the C-final with a personal-best 48.12.

Freshman Jordan Jones gave Auburn a swimmer in the men's 400 IM final for the first time in two years with a 3:46.24, the fourth-fastest time in Auburn history, to finish seventh in the preliminaries. Senior Chris Kramer, the Tigers' only other entry in the event, finished 18th in 3:50.78 to take a spot in the C-final.

On the women's side, junior Olivia Scott led the way by earning the No. 2 seed in the 100 butterfly final. She swam an easy 52.16 to qualify for the championship final. Senior Lindsey Norberg (53.74) and freshman Alex Merritt (53.79) posted personal-best times to finish 14th and 15th, respectively, and earn a spot in the consolation final. And sophomore Megan Fonteno went 54.15 to finish 19th and gain a spot in the C-final tonight.

Senior Micah Lawrence and sophomore Sarah Peterson earned return swims in the women's 400 IM as the only two Auburn entries in the race. Lawrence qualified 11th with a 4:13.41, and Peterson was 14th with a 4:15.70 to earn spots in the consolation final. And seniors Becca Jones and Haley Krakoski wrapped up the morning with 21st and 22nd-place finishes in the 200 freestyle; Jones clocked a 1:47.52 and Gardocki a 1:47.76.

Diving Update (3 p.m.):John Santeiu advanced to the 3-meter final with a score of 369.45 to finish in fourth place in the prelims. Michael Beran was 11th with a 329.25, Andrew Laing took 12th place with a 327.15, and Fraser McKean earned 15th-place points with a 321.05.

Finals begin at 6 p.m. tonight at the Texas A&M Student Rec Center.

Auburn Swimming & Diving
2013 SEC Championships - Day 3 Prelims
February 21, 2013
Texas A&M Student Rec Center - College Station, Texas

Men's 400 IM
7. Jordan Jones (3:46.24) (PR) (A-Final)
18. Chris Kramer (3:50.78) (PR) (C-Final)

Women's 400 IM
11. Micah Lawrence (4:13.41) (PR) (B-Final)
14. Sarah Peterson (4:15.70) (B-Final)

Men's 100 Butterfly
T6. Arthur Mendes (46.96) (PR) (A-Final)
10. Marcelo Chierighini (47.04) (PR) (B-Final)
22. Kevin Behrens (48.12) (PR) (C-Final)
28. TJ Leon (48.52)

Women's 100 Butterfly
2. Olivia Scott (52.16) (A-Final)
14. Lindsey Norberg (53.74) (PR) (B-Final)
15. Alex Merritt (53.79) (PR) (B-Final)
19. Megan Fonteno (54.15) (C-Final)
29. Sarah Reynolds (54.89) (PR)
39. Caitlyn Forman (56.09) (PR)
43. Hallie Stupp (56.26)

Men's 200 Freestyle
2. Zane Grothe (1:34.31) (A-Final)
6. James Disney-May (1:35.79) (A-Final)
14. Alex Hancock (1:36.56) (B-Final)
16. Tommy McKee (1:36.93) (B-Final)
27. Allen Browning (1:37.84)
29. Antton Haramboure (1:37.99) (PR)
47. Brandon Siemasko (1:40.18)
53. Jacob Siar (1:41.07)

Women's 200 Freestyle
21. Becca Jones (1:47.52) (C-Final)
22. Katie Gardocki (1:47.76) (C-Final)
28. Jillian Vitarius (1:48.74)
40. Haley Krakoski (1:50.24)

Men's 3-Meter Diving
4. John Santeiu (369.45) (Final)
11. Michael Beran (329.25)
12. Andrew Laing (327.15)
15. Fraser McKean (321.05)



Tigers Unlimited
  • Auctions