Skip to main content Skip to footer
SEC Championships: Day 2 Prelims
Zane Grothe

Feb. 20, 2013


Twitter Logo@AuburnSwimming on Twitter | Facebook LogoAuburn Swimming & Diving on Facebook

COLLEGE STATION, Texas - Marcelo Chierighini recorded the fastest 50-yard freestyle in the country this year, and Zane Grothe was the top qualifier in the men's 500 free Wednesday morning to highlight the second day of preliminaries at the 2013 SEC Swimming & Diving Championships.

Chierighini posted a personal-best time of 18.92 seconds, the fastest qualifying time of the morning and the top time in the nation this season. He became the sixth Auburn swimmer to go under 19 seconds in the 50 free, joining NCAA record-holder Cesar Cielo along with Matt Targett, Fred Bousquet, Adam Brown and Jakob Andjkaer. He is the first to go below 19.00 at an SEC Championship since technical suits were banned following the 2009 season.

TJ Leon and James Disney-May narrowly missed a spot in the championship, finishing ninth and 10th, respectively. Leon clocked a 19.78 and Disney-May went 19.84 to earn the top two spots in the consolation final.

Hannah Riordan and Emily Bos also came within less than a tenth of a second of qualifying for the championship in the women's 50 free. Riordan finished ninth in prelims with a 22.45, and Bos was 10th overall with a 22.47. Both will swim the consolation tonight. Aubrey Peacock finished 18th with a 22.80 to claim a spot in the C-final where she will be joined by Haley Krakoski, who was 24th with a 23.05. Becca Jones was the second alternate with a personal-best 23.10, and Megan Fonteno was right behind her with a 23.11 to finish 27th.

Grothe recorded the fastest qualifying time in the morning preliminaries with a 4:17.37 to lead the field of eight swimmers in the championship final. Antton Haramboure and Tommy McKee advanced to the C-final as the 17th and 18th overall qualifiers, respectively. Haramboure clocked a 4:23.02, and McKee went 4:23.12. Freshman Jordan Jones just missed the C-final with a 27th-place time of 4:24.85, senior Chris Kramer was 31st in 4:25.77, and sophomore Allen Browning finished 33rd in 4:25.96. All but Grothe recorded personal-best times in the prelims.

Kyle Owens led a group of three Tigers to earn return swims in the men's 200 IM. He qualified sixth overall with a 1:44.39, about a tenth of a second faster than his time that was the top qualifier in 2012. Alex Hancock made his way into the consolation final with a 13th-place time of 1:46.10, and Stuart Ferguson qualified 18th and earned a spot in the C-final with a 1:46.93. Peter Haas clocked a 1:50.00 to finish 28th overall; Hancock, Ferguson and Haas all recorded personal-best marks.

In the women's 200 IM, Olivia Scott qualified for the consolation final with a 12th-place time of 1:58.91. Sarah Peterson narrowly missed a return swim for tonight with a 2:01.51 to finish 25th as the first alternate. Laura Johnson recorded a personal-best 2:01.82 to finish 30th, and Lauren Norberg also had a PR with a 33rd-place time of 2:02.03. Abby Duncan finished 37th in 2:02.72.

Senior Katie Gardocki, the only Auburn entry in the women's 500 free, qualified for the consolation final with a time of 4:42.98 to finish 12th in the preliminary heats.

Finals get underway at 6 p.m. Live video is available through, and fans can follow @AuburnSwimming on Twitter for updates from the pool all week.

Auburn Swimming & Diving
2012 SEC Championships - Day 2 Prelims
February 20, 2013
Texas A&M Student Rec Center - College Station, Texas

Men's 500 Freestyle
1. Zane Grothe (4:17.37) (A-Final)
17. Antton Haramboure (4:23.02) (PR) (C-Final)
18. Tommy McKee (4:23.12) (PR) (C-Final)
27. Jordan Jones (4:24.85) (PR)
31. Chris Kramer (4:25.77) (PR)
33. Allen Browning (4:25.96) (PR)

Women's 500 Freestyle
12. Katie Gardocki (4:42.98) (B-Final)

Men's 200 IM
6. Kyle Owens (1:44.39) (A-Final)
13. Alex Hancock (1:46.10) (PR) (B-Final)
18. Stuart Ferguson (1:46.93) (PR) (C-Final)
28. Peter Haas (1:50.00) (PR)

Women's 200 IM
12. Olivia Scott (1:58.91) (B-Final)
25. Sarah Peterson (2:01.51)
30. Laura Johnson (2:01.82) (PR)
33. Lauren Norberg (2:02.03) (PR)
37. Abby Duncan (2:02.73)

Men's 50 Free
1. Marcelo Chierighini (18.92) (PR) (A-Final)
9. TJ Leon (19.78) (B-Final)
10. James Disney-May (19.84) (B-Final)
45. Chandler Gerlach (21.42)

Women's 50 Free
9. Hannah Riordan (22.45) (B-Final)
10. Emily Bos (22.47) (B-Final)
18. Aubrey Peacock (22.80) (C-Final)
24. Haley Krakoski (23.05) (C-Final)
26. Becca Jones (23.10) (PR)
27. Megan Fonteno (23.11)



Buy Tickets

BUY YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! is your home for buying tickets to Auburn athletic events.

Auburn Tigers
Official Store


Shop for your favorite items at the Auburn Tigers Official Online Store.

Tigers Unlimited, Join Today! Click for more information