Day 2 Final Notes


Feb. 19, 2009

NCAA Records

  • Men's 50 Freestyle - Matt Targett, Auburn - 18.52
    Old record: 18.69, Cesar Cielo, Auburn, 2007

    SEC Records

  • Men's 50 Freestyle - Matt Targett, Auburn - 18.52
    Old record: 18.91, Cesar Cielo, Auburn, 2007
  • Men's 200 Freestyle Relay - Auburn - 1:15.47
    Old record: 1:16.09, Auburn, 2004
  • Women's 200 Freestyle Relay - Florida - 1:28.15
    Old record: 1:28.87, Georgia, 2005

    Pool Records

  • Men's 200 IM - Bradley Ally, Florida - 1:41.96
    Old record: 1:43.91, Greg Burgess, Florida, 1994
  • Women's 200 IM - Ava Ohlgren, Auburn - 1:55.18
    Old record: 1:55.33, Maggie Bowen, Auburn, 2003
  • Men's 50 Freestyle - Matt Targett, Auburn - 18.52
    Old record: 18.74, Fred Bousquet, Auburn, 2009
  • Women's 200 Freestyle Relay - Florida - 1:28.15
    Old record: 1:28.96, Georgia, 2003

    Repeat Winners

  • Bradley Alley of Florida won the men's 200 IM for the second year in a row.
  • Ava Ohlgren of Auburn won the women's 200 IM for the third year in a row.
  • An Auburn swimmer won the men's 50 freestyle for the seventh year in row after Matt Targett's victory Thursday.
  • Auburn won the men's 200 freestyle relay for the seventh year in a row.


    Top Times
  • Bradley Ally of Florida and Tyler McGill of Auburn posted the two fastest times in the NCAA this year in the 200 IM.
  • Matt Targett of Auburn's time of 18.52 in the men's 50 freestyle was the second-fastest swim for 50 yards in history.
  • Auburn's time in the men's 200 freestyle relay was the fastest in the NCAA this year.


  • There was a tie for first in a women's individual final for just the third time in SEC history, and first since 1986. Michelle King of Tennessee and Anne-Marie Botek of Georgia tied for the title in the women's 50 freestyle.

    Winners By School (Through Two Days)
    Alabama (2) - Aaron Fleshner, Men's 1-Meter Diving; Carrie Dragland, Women's 3-Meter Diving Auburn (7) - Men's 200 Medley Relay; Men's 800 Freestyle Relay; Women's 800 Freestyle Relay; Ava Ohlgren, Women's 200 IM; Matt Targett, Men's 50 Freestyle; Daniel Mazzaferro, Men's 3-Meter Diving; Men's 200 Freestyle Relay Florida (3) - Women's 200 Medley Relay; Bradley Ally, Men's 200 IM; Women's 200 Freestyle Relay Georgia (3) - Troyden Prinsloo, Men's 500 Freestyle; Allison Schmitt, Women's 500 Freestyle; Anne-Marie Botek, Women's 50 Freestyle South Carolina (1) - Taryn Zack, Women's 1-Meter Diving Tennessee (1) - Michelle King, Women's 50 Freestyle

    Team Notes

    Auburn - Four of the seven men to ever swim the 50-yard freestyle in under 19 seconds have been Auburn Tigers ... Matt Targett's time of 18.52 in the 50 free is just five hundredths behind the all-time record of 18.47 held by former Tiger Cesar Cielo ... The 50 free prelims saw Targett and Jakob Andkjaer become the first men ever to go under 19 seconds in the SEC Championship prelims ... Junior Ava Ohlgren's victory in the 200 IM gave Auburn eight of the last nine championships in that event ... Junior and 2008 SEC platform champion Dan Mazzaferro earned his second SEC title, this time in the 3-meter platform ... Auburn has now won 10 of the last 12 SEC Championship men's 200 freestyle relays ... Junior Will Dove set a new school record while placing sixth in the men's 500 free finals ... Ohlgren hit a 200 IM "A" cut with her 1:56.52 preliminary time, giving her NCAA automatic qualifying times in the 200 and 400 IMs.

    Florida - Senior Bradley Ally's 200-yard IM SEC win was the Florida men's program's 52nd individual SEC title all-time ... Ally's 200 IM title was the fourth individual SEC title of his career and was the second-consecutive 200 IM title (200 IM: 2008, 400 IM & 200 breast: 2007) ... Florida men have captured the SEC title in the 200-yard IM the past five-consecutive years ... The Florida women's 200-yard medley relay title (1:36.22) on day one of the 2009 SEC Championships gave the UF women an SEC title for the 29th-consecutive year ... The Lady Gators won the 200-yard free relay for the first time since 1994 when the UF women swam to a 1:31.04 ... Through day two of the 2009 SEC meet, the Gators have set six UF records (W200 MR, M200 FR, Women's 3M diving, W50 free, W200IM, W200 FR), three James E. Martin Aquatics Center pool records (W200 MR, M200 IM, W200 FR) and two SEC records (W200 MR, W200 FR).

    Georgia - Georgia programs recorded two school records, including Morgan Scroggy's time of 1:55.58 in the 200 individual medley and Hannah Moore's score of 300.90 in the 3-meter preliminaries that set the new school standard in a championship meet ... Georgia also earned four new NCAA automatic qualifying times, including Troyden Prinsloo in the men's 500 free, Anne-Marie Botek in the women's 50 free, Allison Schmitt in the 500 free and Scroggy in the 200 individual medley ... Also, Schmitt led a Georgia 1-2-3 sweep in the 500 free as Chelsea Nauta and Wendy Trott finished second and third, respectively. It is the first time a women's team has gone 1-2-3 in an event since Auburn achieved the feat at the 2007 SEC Championships in the 1,650 freestyle.

    LSU - Sophomore Jane Trepp shattered the program's 50-yard freestyle record with an NCAA 'B' cut time of 22.49 seconds and spearheaded the Lady Tigers to a record-setting finish in the 200 freestyle relay with a lead-off split of 22.61 to highlight the women's efforts on Day 2 of the 2009 SEC Championships ... Men's divers Niko Dalman and Matt Vieke and senior sprinter Brandon Selts led the charge for the LSU men ... Dalman recorded a sixth-place finish in the three-meter springboard with a score of 390.20, while Vieke placed 10th with a 329.25 mark ... After registering a personal best of 19.82 in the 50-free preliminaries, Selts captured third-place in the consolation final of the 50 free (11th overall) with a time of 19.90.

    South Carolina - Taryn Zack becomes the fifth South Carolina diver to win an SEC title, joining Vivian Alberty (1M, 1994; 3M, 1995), Michelle Davison (3M, 1998; 1M & 3M, 1999), Tracey Richardson (3M, 2003) and current South Carolina assistant coach Allison Brennan (1M & 3M, 2006) ... Since joining the league for the 1992 season, South Carolina has won nine combined SEC women's diving titles on the 1M and 3M boards, the most of any league school in those two events. Tennessee is second with eight combined titles, followed by LSU (5), Kentucky (4), Alabama (4), Florida (3) and Auburn (2).

    Tennessee Men - Tennessee sophomore Geoff Sanders' 500 freestyle time (4:16.20) breaks UT's oldest school record... The record was previously held by legendary Vol swimmer Melvin Stewart (4:16.45 -1990).

    Tennessee Women - Tennessee junior Michele King is no stranger to ties at big meets ... In addition to sharing the SEC title with Georgia's Anne-Marie Botek in the 50 free, King tied for fourth in the 50 free and third in the 100 free at the 2008 SEC Championships, and tied for first in the 50 free at the 2008 U.S. Open last summer ... King became the fourth Lady Vol - and second in a row - to capture the 50y free SEC title. Last season, Christine Magnuson won the event with a time of 22.03. Nicole deMan won back-to-back titles in 1995-96 and Karla Driesler tied Florida's Dara Torres for the title in 1986 ... King's prelim time of 21.89 currently ranks her third in the country. Both of her times are also NCAA 'A' cuts.